What the hell is going on with steemconnect?

in #steemconnect5 years ago (edited)

I used to be able to sign in from a list of accounts, now I gotta enter each one individually?
I got to type in the name, then enter the password, where before I could just chose from a list?

Let me guess, that is a feature, yeah?

Somebody please tell me that this isn't the new normal!

image.png

Sort:  

I figured it out.

Any platform with a steemconnect login, should allow you to login normally, but it will also prompt you to create a keychain password.

Create a new password for steemconnect. (Make sure you write it down and save it somewhere safe)

From now on (as far as I know) you should be able to login easy by clicking the sign-in button if you are ever logged out of your device.

This is what I learned from talking with the staff in the discord channel for steemconnect. It worked for me. Best luck for anyone else struggling.

But, I don't have keychain,...
Or, is steemconnect confusing us by using that word?
Keychain is the chrome extension steem-engine uses.

That's right.

When I talked to the steemconnect folks they said keychain is a common term used in the industry for a secure login password.

So we can ignore the chrome apps to create a steemconnect password/keychain to login for the first time.

Yes, using keychain had me confused because I would use it, if I was on a desktop

Thanks for getting that data, it works much better now.

I am having trouble getting in! Confusing. I miss the old steem connect.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's screwed up my entire mobile experience. Can't use steempeak anymore while I'm on the go, or steemrewarding to schedule my future upvotes.

Now I'm back to the stoneage of having to spam upvotes all at once or check in every two hours while I'm working or sleeping.

Oddly, I found out you can still use steemit forever without having to login again. It lets you do things with the private key of your choice. It does not need steemconnect or keychain to stay logged in. Not my favorite platform, but it works to get the basics done.

Thank you for asking this question.
I have to go back and click on "sign in" three times before I get through to bypass the new hoopla, because the key chain password I made seems to do nothing.

I know right?
I can't use keychain because it won't load on my tablet.
Adequate testing could have avoided all this,...

Yeah, I'm not enjoying the new steemconnect. I know keychain it's supposed to be more secure but honestly, the user experience is shit on mobile.

Posted using Partiko Android

I only use keychain

Congratulations @freebornangel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I have to re-enter my username every time I clear my cache.

I got multiple accounts and rudimentary computer skilz.
0.o

Did you see what happened to the odin?

What happened to the odin?

I was unaware, and appreciate the heads up. There's no law against treating oneself, and if there is such an interpretation, I'll fight it to the death. I am not familiar with any provision of medical advice or materials by Zayner, and don't think they could prove he acted as a medical practitioner in any way, but I am far too familiar with corruption and institutional abuse that could impact him anyway.

I don't think they could stop him, no matter what they do to him, short of execution. Were I he, I'd look at this as an opportunity to deliver my sermons from a bully pulpit, which he seems to be doing already.

Thanks!