You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemConnect 3: A better way to sign

in #steemconnect5 years ago

This is great guys! I really think that this is the way to go. :)
But do you know about Scatter? It is already being developed, just needs the integration of STEEM blockchain... it could be easier than implementing it from scratch. And also the steem url way has some limitations as stated below...
Check out what Nathan published about his move to a desktop/mobile app approach here:
https://medium.com/@nsjames/the-blockchain-isnt-just-for-web-applications-silly-rabbit-926a4ea5ccd1
If you guys need a hand, just let me know...

Sort:  

I disagree about the limitations of uri schemes stated in that article. Having callback url's does not exclude native applications at all (they can just have their own uri scheme to deep link back into). I'm also very sceptical that Scatters web socket server is a good idea. For example you can never keep your keys on your phone to sign for a desktop app and it will never work on iOS because you can't run that server in the background there.

URIs have additional benefits as well. You can print a "Follow me" T-Shirt with a QR code or create a point of sale system that customers can use with RFID.

I see your point there... And after some investigation I have to agree with you! :)

What about other blockchains, like Bitshares or SounDAC? Couldn't we do something like this that would cover all the graphene blockchains, or even to others?

Do you have a github to where I can contribute?

I have one main concern, that is tied to the reason why I never implemented SteemConnect in the first place... Will SteemConnect 3 maintain the Authority sharing on the users accounts? Or will that not be needed anymore?