You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A new start for SteemConnect

in #steemconnect5 years ago

I don't use most of those 683 DAPPs. I mostly just use Busy, Dlike and STEEM Hunt. Am I doing something stupid by using Steemconnect? Is there a better way to use those DAPPs and do what I do? I don't care about some random DAPP I haven't heard of. 99% of the blockchain usage should be coming from about 10 DAPPs. How does Steemconnect usage matter when it comes to the few I actually use?Is there any reason I should stop using these services/DAPPs?

As a user I don't mind one time verification via microtransaction such as @minnowsupport. But doing a microtransaction every time is going to ensure that STEEM will never gain mass adoption. This is my perspective as a user. Is there anything I've messed up

Sort:  

Most people won't use most of those dapps. Many won't use any dapp that actually requires delegated user authority. For those, delegating almost all their user authority to a TTP in order to log in to a dapp that requires zero is bad from a security point of view.

Personally I currently don't use any steemconnect using dapp, not since utopian. The ones I'm interested in using are authenticate only, and I'm seriously not going to trust a TTP I don't need because neither the dapp builder nor SteemConnect could bothered to implement either micro transaction based or wallet based login.

Looking beyond login, in theory, there should really be no need for a TTPin a blockchain based infrastructure. This would be a big project, but imagine an infrastructure where you could use your wallet to delegate the attenuated right to use specific operations with your account to a capability secure smart contract between you and the dapp. That should totally remove the need and justification for any type of TTP.

I believe if STEEM dapp usage continues to require a 1990s style TTP infrastructure like SteemConnect, instead of aiming to be amongst the first to get on the Agoric track, STEEM will end up left behind, and new alternatives that will be TTP-free will drive STEEM out of existence. TTPs are not the future of web 3, and moving away from them, step by step, should be top priority for Steemit Inc IMHO.

Thank you for taking your time to reply. The smart contract based authentication certainly sounds much better. Personally I avoid the more obscure DAPPs and stick with the ones that provide a good service that has good reputation. Still it's not perfect as it was evident from the Utopian mess. But on the bright side it's really not that huge compared to the mess Ethereum had to deal with.