You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing SteemPay

in #steemdev6 years ago (edited)

This is a great project, but I would consider a rename since I already have a project called SteemPay. Our app is in the play store, we have a public API, several different apps under this brand - merchant facing and consumer facing - we have the GitHub organization, and the domains.

You are free to do what you want, but there may be some confusion otherwise.

Other than that, awesome project!

Sort:  

Thanks for your suggestion!
I think the name SteemPay cannot be owned by anyone as you know there was SteemPay project before you started your project, and there are another project beginning including mine, and I believe there will be more in the future. So I will go with SteemPay as I primarily target the Korean market. We may need to compete in some area, but I believe that will be productive for both of us.

Regards

It's no problem. You can do what you want, I just feel like it will be confusing.

For confusion's sake, why not just put KR in the name so that it's less confusing for those searching for a steem related payment solution in Korea?

Also, not I'm not trying to start a fight or anything (I really don't care what your project is called) but the name definitely can be owned by someone, there are tons of cases in trademark law where you see people argue over what constitutes a brand name, and what things should be called. Disclaimer: IANAL