SteemPi v1.0 is here!

in #steemdev7 years ago

I'm happy to finally present to you:



SteemPi v1.0

Runs on a (Raspberry) Pi single board computer that connects to your TV (HDMI) and shows the SteemPi web interface with the press of a button on your TV remote, it shows useful Steem related information, apps, links, cointickers and it has some entertainment as well. 

Beside the functions of the web interface, the SteemPi system can also notify you on Steemit profile updates, with LED light notifications.

You can now install SteemPi onto your (Raspberry) Pi in 3 simple steps.

The SteemPi tutorial and files can be found on the new SteemPi Github


Some coding and linux experience is at this moment still useful to get started, but if you don't have this experience the tutorial, commands, and the comments in the "ledscript" and "index.php" will (hopefully) help you get more experience and it will explain what you can change and customize and how to add features to the SteemPi interface.  


SteemPi v1.0 Features:

- Easy 3 step installation
- Led light notifications when new replies are recieved on your Steemit blog posts.
- Realtime Google Trends charts https://trends.google.com
- Switchable header apps 
--- Steemitpond Made by @mynameisbrian
--- Whale Sonar Made by @elviento
--- Steem Stream Made by @roelandp
--- Steemitboard Made by @arcange & @captaink
--- Steem Followers Made by @shaunmza
--- Steem Supply Made by @dragosroua 
--- ISS Live stream from space, Provided by Ustream
--- Monterey Bay Aquarium Live stream, Provided by Ustream

APPS 

- Coingecko Coin Tickers: Steem, SBD, BTC, ETH
https://www.google.com/search?q=coingecko+widgets++ticker

- RSS Sliders: #steemdev, @Techtek replies
http://www.surfing-waves.com/feed.htm

- live video streams: ISS, Aquarium +Fullscreen
http://www.ustream.tv/ embed any stream you want

Links

- Steemit https://steemit.com/
- Dtube https://dtube.video/ @heimindanger
- Streemian https://streemian.com/
- Steemit chat https://steemit.chat/
- Steemit Pond http://steemitpond.com/ @mynameisbrian
- SteemVP http://steemvp.com/ @roelandp
- Steem Stream http://steemstream.com/ @roelandp
- SteemTracked http://steemtracked.com/ @shango
- Steemcap http://www.steemcap.com/ @ausbitbank
- Mentions https://mentions.steemdata.com/ @furion
- Whale Sonar http://steem.loadsup.net/sonar @elviento
- SteemPi https://steemit.com/@techtek @techtek @dehenne


SteemPi v1.0 board compatibility list:

Raspberry Pi 1...............Untested, should work
Raspberry Pi 2...............Tested, works
Raspberry Pi 3...............Untested, should work
Raspberry Pi zero..........Untested, should work
Raspberry Pi zero w......Untested, should work
Bananna Pi series.........Untested, should work
Odroid..........................Untested, Should work
Orange Pi series............Untested, should work
(Orange Pi: 1, 2, plus, plus 2, mini, mini 2, pc, one, lite, pc plus, plus 2E, pc 2, zero plus 2)


SteemPi probably also works on other single board computers that are compatible with the Wiringpi GPIO library.

The boards can be bought on-line, or find and support a local reseller.

Prices for those single board computers range from 5,- to 50,- usd +/-

Special thanks to @dehenne for helping with this project.


Please let me know, if you have it up and running, and let me know if you have questions, requests or sugestions etc.


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Could this be programmed to output pulses to a GPIO pin when SBD are sent to a specified account?

I would like to emulate a coin mechanism and create a Steem-powered arcade game.

I will create a feature request issue for you ;-)

If somebody have more ideas or some feature request:

best regards
hen

Hi thanks for your interest in SteemPi

  • Could this be programmed to output pulses to a GPIO pin: yes

  • when SBD are sent to a specified account?: no (not yet only on replies at this moment )

you say that it can be controlled with a TV remote, but regular monitors work too right? I don't have extra TV's but I have extra monitors lol

That's ok, too :-)

Yes will work *if your monitor have HDMI

or you can access the interface also from a webbowser on your pc

This is so awesome! Been wondering what to do with my raspberry pi for quite some time. Really cool project! Thanks a bunch for sharing!

You really should give it a try it is a fun project and more features will follow

This looks pretty cool, going to have to do some more reading to check out all the features. Thanks for doing cool things with inexpensive technology for the community!

Thank you for your reply and lighting up the LED :)

"Thanks for doing cool things with inexpensive technology for the community!"

Nice :) makes me smile

Thank you 😊. For the next weeks we want to implement new features and an easier GUI for TV's.

That is awesome, will be looking for the update here

I'll be giving this a go. I've plenty of Pi's lying around.

Thanks, that would be awesome :)

Maybe I'll have a go tomorrow.

Thanks for lighting up my day :)

it is very useful, you will not easily miss a reply and if you have a few of them you could for example put one near and connected to the TV and one near your computer monitor.

What case(s) do you have ?

You might (Or might not. :-D) want to look at this on my site http://www.cannon-linux.co.uk/?s=frankenPi
I have Pi's 1,2 and 3 some in cases some not. :-)

Thats useful, i have seen them before, with combinations of:

  • miro usb
  • lighning
  • type-c

But i use a 220v to 4x USB adapter and two loose cables for two Pi's. but your reply reminds me: next time i should buy at least one of this cables with 2 or 3 x micro usb connectors.

Thanks

Do you have this case ?

Yeah, actually have that. It runs ArchArm

Congratulations @techtek!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following categories:

  • Comments - Ranked 6 with 134 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 5 with $ 380,4

Thank you! That's so incredible reaction. Steemit rocks.

Thanks, thats awesome

Wow this a very great tool i've never thought that something like that would exist.
I have a Raspberry Pi 3 lying around, which i used previously as a webserver, but this is a much better use than it was before.

Thank you for sharing. And please keep us up to date for futrue anouncements.

Brian

Hi Brian,

Thank you and thanks for commenting, a new announcement post is in the making and is planned for tomorrow :)

And you could try to run the webserver and SteemPi together to have both functionality and be ready for our next updates.

Keep us posted about it

Really cool project!

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

wow, thanks for the update . This shows the ingenuity of steem and its members...upvoted
In addition to my comment, feel free to join the conversation in my new post about future of steem...it will motivate you more about steem . More success to you.

Great project, hopefully people like you are reproduced and developed in order to give good to others.

I want to be like you, but the limitations of knowledge that separates intentions and desires.

always success!!

I have a raspberry pi 2 laying around, awesome idea

Thanks, Please install and feedback :)

Super innovative, great job @techtek

Thanks for your reply and compliment ,

( also thanks to @dehenne he is helping a lot as well )

Interesting, makes fun from Pi and Steemit.

Thanks for your reply,

Those two things can make great new things possible :)

A smart steemian you are. Tech changes and improves the world.

Thank you for the nice comment and for lighting up my day :)

Great job!

Thanks :)

Hi @techtek! That is so cool! Thanks for sharing with us your post. I would love to have at least one of that technology ^^

Thanks for your comment and lighting up the LED and my day :)

This is pretty neat. I need a pi asap

:) they are cheap and a lot of fun !

definitely. You will not regret it. 😊

This is amazing!! The things yous guys put together never cease to amaze me. Thanks for all of the hard work put in by everyone involved. Resteemed and upvoted in attempts to payback how I can.

Thank you

Thank you for your help

Great work! resteemed =)

Thank you so much !

And thanks for lighting up my day and the LED :)

Happy :)

Looks like fun. I have a few Pis lying around. I have some Steemit-related projects of my own I want to try

Thanks, please give it a try and lets make it more functional. please let me know once you have it installed.

Not sure when I'll have time. Got a lot on at the moment :)

This is awseome will install tonight!

I'm pretty much only using my Raspberry PI 3 (model B) to seed files over IPFS. I'm thinking of migrating my website to IPFS as well, just for the lols.

Looks great. Keep up the good work and ideas along with shared resources.

Thank you. For the next days and weeks we plan some more features. 😊

Thank you, for motivating we plan a new announcement post about system improvements, features and the SteemPi ideology for somewhere tomorrow.

Fantastic I love Rpi. I have ordered a Orange pi and will install and test as soon as I get it. I hope to have it as the base of my off grid and bee managment system.

Thanks for your reply and lighting up the LED, Interesting reply and would love to hear your feedback, Which orange pi model did you order?

Bee's need automated management ?

No Problem I always take the time to up vote articles and comments that I have and interest in. I do the same for well done articles that promote a sustainable planet.
I actually have 2 on order Orange Pi Zero H2 Quad Core Open-source and a Orange Pi Zero PC Compatible Android 512MB H2 WiFi with Expansion Board and Case.

There will be lots going on in this project. well actually 3 main ones. beehive monitoring. Solar tracker, charge controller and power monitoring system.

Love the combination of Perl programing, electronic design and hardware manufacturing.

I just got the Orange pis in but have not been able to get them to boot up. I have tried several distro from the orange site but noe worked. I will get a few new cards and try again.

Nice project I will have to grab up a Pi and play. Upvoted and Resteemed for exposure. Keep up the cool work!!

sweet, very cool! i'll get a pi 3 dedicated to this and get it setup, good work! :)

Thank you for your comment, please feedback your results, it would be very useful.

will gladly feedback, would you be up for some custom pi distro in the future for a project? did you pull this all together yaself?

A custom Distro is on the wishlist but still far away and i cant do everything by myself and i am lucky i have help from @dehenne!

if you would want to focus on the distro part or someone, that would be awesome.

when i'm totally setup i would totally be glad to help out and shape both what you have going and what i want to work on i think there is a crossover. which is kinda exciting! :)

Do you develop a rpi steemit project, too?

nope. not at all, but i'm a big pi fan and i use them for cctv (kerberos.io) and xmbc, but i have a project, that i want to work on for a bunch of niches -- i've been testing the pi camera for both streaming/cctv and other stuff, once i've got it fully tested i'll be explaining more about the project as it's fairly big, so basically anything i see to do with the pi i'm behind! :)

Going to have to test this out...this is pretty cool @techtek, thank you.

Thanks , dont forget @dehenne :)

It will be great to hear how your test goes, and I would like to see an article on it from you

Raspberry pi software is very important for robotics.
Good going

If all things keep going wel..... who knows... SteemPi may become one of our best robot friends :)

Great innovation...day by day, this platform grows so fast and makes steemit easier to be accesed...

For the Futur we planned some more stuff ...we will keep you up to date.

This is great to read! You made it! Have no Raspberry Pi, so I cannot test this one, but I should buy myself one soon. Deserved rewards you have here in your post!

Thanks for your comment and compliments, you really should consider to buy one, and get SteemPi installed, the next version will be so much better. and have new features.

Alternate.nl have the Pi in stock i believe, and they sell the same case that i am using, (if you decide to buy the Pi and the same case, i will send you a custom 3d printed side panel with cutout Steemit logo)

I'll have a look at it soon :)

An excellent idea with helpful features. Yet to get myself a raspberry pi, but it is on the list as someone in a class of mine has it and I would love to use it myself! Upvoted and reblogged.

Thanks for such a great article! Deeply appreciated and upvoted! ✌️ ✌️

Thanks for your compliment and reply

I've installed it quickly on ArchArm which is the Pi derivative of ArchLinux
It is slightly broken but don't worry about that. Effectively it works.

I might look at doing a Raspbian install at the weekend.

FIrst, Thanks for installing and testing it,.

Do you know with which user your webserver runs? This user should have write permissions to the project folder.

TBH I wasn't interested in setting it up properly, it was just a 'Throw on' install. Hopefully, I'll find time over the weekend and do it properly on one of the five or six other Pi's I have. :-)

100% upvote!! I need one of these.

Thank you :) !

(We are preparing a announcement post, better system, new features and we will explain the ideology of the project in more detail.)

@techtek Tag me in your future SteemPi posts, I am interested in possibly distributing these. Connect with me on https://discord.gg/AJ4S3Kk

Very cool. Thanks for the hard work. What another great reason to get a Rasberry Pi.

Thank you for the comment and positive words :)

I would want to add to it: "and to come to Steemit" :)

Hey, I have raspbery pi's sitting around doing nothing. Thanks!
Upvoted you.

You should try SteemPi on it !?

This is awesome, on another level. Would like to integrate the son my Samsung plasma too. Would be great to play around there a bit. It's pretty amazing that you an also add live streams as well.

Thanks for lighting up the LED and my day :)

The features that are available in this first V1.0 is just a very small beginning of the features that are on the drawing table... :)

More to come soon

Thanks for your comment

This is great. I was just looking at getting a pi zero w to tinker with. Thanks for the motivation to get out my other 2 pi's. I have not given them the time to become fully aware of what they can do. Upvoted, following and resteemed.


SDG

Hi thanks for your reply, Yu really should start playing with them more, they are a lot of fun and so many cool projects to try it with.

SteemPi is not to difficult to setup and play around with. you really should try it :)

@techtek - Thanks for making this app. I'll surely going to give it a try and install it on my Raspberry device.

Thanks for your reply, please let me know the results. feedback would be very welcome.

this is unbelievable...

Thank you

gonna have to test this on the orange pi see how it runs and see the features

I think it should work fine and some Orange Pi's should/could preform better than the Pi 2 and possible the 3 as well.

i have two different orange pi's but im to busy with SteemPi on Raspberry Pi to give it a try on Orange Pi.

Would be great to have your feedback and if you post about it i probably will resteem your post.

Upvoted and resteemed! I'm actually excited to try this out. Have a raspberry pi 3 primarily for trading crypto, but I have been wanting to try out other projects

Thanks, it is a nice project to play around and customise, you should give it a try, and more (crypto) features will be implemented.

I will install this software to my Pi and check it out. I will comment later again and tell you if it works on a Raspberry Pi 3 :)

That would be very nice, please give feedback so we can improve and make it better.

So the software is running :) I also can use this WebUI on all my devices :) I don't have a LED lying around so I will test this feature next week :)

We are planning a new post explaining the upcoming version and our ideology for the system it will get much better and much more interesting !

Thanks for testing :)!!!

That would be nice :)

Hahahah that is amazing, really nice !!!

Maybe you dont need to buy one, perhaps you can hunt down one in your home, maybe you have one laying around, look for a ledkeychain or plastic toy or small portable light, old electronics, happymeal toys or even Christmas decoration :p

If you don't connect a led and run the script manually it should output to the terminal when change is detected. (so you could already play with it without the LED connected as well)

Thanks for your comment and letting us know you have installed it !

Today I don't play with this software. Maybe sunday :)

Excellent!! Steemit going to the moon!!

This is a great idea. Can you throw up an example website or mock ups of what it looks like?

Thanks for your reply

Screenshots:

This is great, thanks!

I ordered one and waiting for it to be delivered. Thank you for another Idea how to use it apart from learning python.

This is Baller, capital B intended. I cant wait to have this on my wall as a current up date at a glance, Thanks for putting this together! Seriously its awesome.

Thanks you for lighting up the LED and commenting on the project
a upvote for you in return. :)

This is really interesting. I am playing with the Raspberry Pi since the very first version. Bit short on time at the moment but I remember this and will try it.

Thanks for your reply and compliment, The goal is to have it setup in no time, SteemPi also have a settings menu which will make part of the webinterface customization easy to do from within the webinterface itself.

Would be very cool if you would install it and give it a try

There are 2 pages
Pages