Please tell me what is a Steem Dollar?

in #steemdollar7 years ago

Can anyone tell me what a Steem Dollar is, what is the point of it and what can you do with it? Please :)

Sort:  

It's a token which is backed by approximately $1 worth of Steem. You can send it to other Steem users with no transaction fees, to buy something or just to sell it for Bitcoin or normal money.

It is supposed to be worth about $1, but it can be worth more or less than that (such as now it is worth about $1.45).

Thanks for that reply demotruk, I didn't realise that I could send it to other Steemers.

I suggest that you put your steem dollars in steem where they can be converted to steem power. Steem power lets you earn on curation rewards. If you need a crypto to send money there are better currencies far more liquid than steem dollars like etherium or bitcoin.

Thanks for your reply zhanmusi, I am liking etherium at the moment!

I would stay far away from Etherium right now. It looks like it is reaching an intermediate top. Im only liking golem and steem at the moment.