Grammar Lesson => Comparative and superlative adjectives

in #steemeducation6 years ago (edited)

Hello, guys!

I was out for a while as I was busy with my lessons. I haven't written my introduction post yet... I teach English to Russian people via Skype. But today my lesson will be useful for anybody who has reached English of pre-intermediate - intermediate level.
Basically this is a LESSON PLAN ☺️, so I think that it will be helpful for English Teachers as well.

👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇

comparativessuperlatives-formation-poster-classroom-posters-flashcards-grammar-guides_14136_4.jpg

🗣Step 1: WARM UP. Answer the following questions.

If you learn English on your own at this step you will need a partner to discuss questions below.

Another option you can speak on your own and record your speech. After that you listen your recording and check your speaking for mistakes: word order, correct tense usage, word in the proper context, singular / plural, prepositions and articles.

  • Do you like pizza?
  • What is your favorite pizza topping?
  • How often do you eat pizza at a restaurant?
  • How often do you order pizza to your home?
  • Are there pizzerias near your home that deliver pizzas?
  • What do you like to drink with your pizza?
  • Do you know how to make a pizza?
  • Do you know who invented the pizza?
  • Why is pizza popular?
  • Have you ever called for pizza delivery?
  • How do you make pizza at home?
    👉 Example conversation.

👩‍🏫Step 2: Learn the grammar about "Comparative and superlative adjectives" from the lesson provided by British Council.

💡>❗️1st you need to read "Instructions" then watch the video.
💡>❗️2nd learn the grammar rules.
💡>❗️3rd do the exercises under the rules: True / False exercise, Gap fill writing exercise, multiple choice exercise.

Note to the teachers: This activity can be given as homework before or after the lesson.

📖📝Step 3: Learn grammar deeper. First look at the picture and read the sentences.

Study the table and learn the rules.

Spelling of comparative adjectives

Spelling of superlative adjectives


Let's Practice! ✏️📖



👩‍🏫Step 4: Vocabulary Practice.
At this stage I offer you to continue with the article "Scientists discover healthier pizza" from one of my favourite resource site breakingnewsenglish.com. This site is a real time-saver 🤗😇🧐 because you just need to follow step by step all the instructions.

P.S. Answers to this post you can find here.

I hope you will find this information helpful 🙌.
✍ Please, comment and upvote 🙌.

❀ ❀ ❀ Follow me on Steemit @irina.olsen and Upvote 🙋. ❀ ❀ ❀
Created by @irina.olsen

✿ Materials used: ✿
➪ Questions are taken from this site.
➪ MyGrammarLab. Intermediate B1/B2, by Mark Foley, Diana Hall. Pearson. unit 21, page 60.
➪ Lesson from britishcouncil "Comparative and superlative adjectives".
➪ Article "Scientists discover healthier pizza" from breakingnewsenglish.com.
➪ Post with a list of Emojis.

✿ My other lessons, Intermediate level: ✿
Previous ➪ How do you pronounce "SCHEDULE"?!?!
Previous ➪ Lesson #1 - New Year Resolutions, Intermediate level. Part 1, Part 2, script only.
Previous ➪ Digest #October, 2017, here are all English lessons created in October.

Sort:  

Hi. It's nice to see someone else posting ESL/EFL stuff on here. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you :)! I was glad to see that you are posting ESL / EFT stuff too. I am planning on writing more.

I'd also be interesting in some blogs posts about yoga. I have a Youtube video about comparatives and superlatives that you might like:

That’s a useful video 😊! Thank you for sharing I will use it for my lessons 👍

I'm glad you like it. I have lots of other Youtube videos too.