You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemfest Ticket Giveaway!

in #steemfest7 years ago

Hey @acidyo

I realize this maybe be an unexpected approach as I have already bought a ticket (well 2 actually, the other is for my motivation to get up and try to do something positive in my life, my girl) for the event next month.

On the 9th November, 4 days after SF2 ends, we will be re-packing and heading off to Nepal.

In brief, we are going to to volunteer at a School / Children's home using our skills in IT and Montessori Teaching. @osm0sis is the Teacher, and I'm the IT guy (apparently!).

Last year, she spent a few months at this location, spending her time and money educating and boosting the lives of the children and teachers. Her story and selflessness got me hooked, and in September I quit my job and since then we have been making plans to drum up support (via SF2) and head over to Kathmandu.

Honestly, this has not been cheap. I've covered the flights and accommodation (and tickets for SF2), for both journeys, which has set me back approximately $3000 - most of my spare fiat.

In Nepal, I hope to raise a little Steem as and when we see that its needed, via blogging and requesting up-vote support. The full article (my best earner ever) is here:

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@abh12345/is-anyone-doing-a-steemfest-2-competition-in-which-this-would-be-a-valid-entry

I understand that whilst this isn't the most obvious of entries into your competition, I feel that we have a really worthwhile cause and use case for Steem and its philosophy as a decentralized means of getting funds to where they are required.

I really hope you spend a few minute to check the article, and consider this as an entry into your competition.

Thanks very much

Asher