Steemfest 2 - Impressions of a Venezuelan abroad.

in #steemfest27 years ago

100_4761.JPG

Once finished the Steemfest 2, I can finally sit down to write, and after all this experience, I would like to tell you about the impressions that I had in this place, the cultural shock that everything here implies for a Venezuelan and the experience that is to be able to meet so many people from so many countries, having to speak a language that you can defend with but still do not know very well and above all to know such a great and nice community.

Thanks

First of all I would like to thank @Aggroed and the Project @MinnowSupport again for giving me the opportunity to attend lisboa for the Steemfest 2. Helping me with the contest they made, where as a winner, gave me the necessary Money for the Passage of the plane, the stay of the hostel in which I stayed, and even for food and transport during the time I stayed in Lisbon.

I invite everyone to vote for the witness @Aggroed so that I can continue to help the small users who make life on this platform

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

I would also like to thank @Roelandp for giving me the Ticket to Steemfest2. When I knew I was going to lisbon, I wrote to see if he could help me with the entrance ticket with his Travel Reimbursement Fund program, where he would help the people who requested it according to the number of miles they would have traveled, and decided to help me by giving me an entry ticket completely!

I also invite you to vote for @Roelandp as Witness

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


100_4766.JPG

My impressions

Social difference between Venezuela and European countries.

I think the biggest difference, or the biggest shock I could get when I got here, was to see how everything worked, how people followed the rules and were respectful. I think there are 2 good examples that I could use to explain this:

The first is that when I arrived in Lisbon, I decided to go to my hostel in the Metro (Subway), I thought that unlike the Caracas metro, this would not always be full, and I could get on and off the train with my bags without any problem. When I entered, everything was as I expected, just one or another person on the subway ... but as the stops passed, it began to fill more and more, to the point that it looked like the Caracas metro at peak time.


Fuente de la Imagen

it would have been impossible for me to get out of that station with the suitcase I was carrying. But to my surprise, all the people who wanted to come in, were patiently waiting for the first person to come out first. In Venezuela it would have been a war between people to enter and leave the train.

The second example is how people respect traffic laws, here in Lisbon, when you want to cross the street in a pedestrian crossing where there is no traffic light, you just have to approach and all the cars will start to stop to let you pass. In Venezuela, you have to stop waiting for all the cars to pass, or let someone decide to allow you to cross, even though our laws also benefit the pedestrian in the same way.

The experience of meeting people from other countries

I think what I liked the most about being at the Steemfest was this, meeting people. In fact, as soon as I arrived at my hostel, I found that I shared a room .. WITH 3 BLOND GIRLS OF LONDON ... the bad thing was that I had barely arrived in Lisbon and I still did not have the confidence to start speaking in English, so I only present and I continued to get comfortable in the room. Shortly after, more people began to arrive, from China, Russia, Holland ...

What's more, just at the time I was writing this, a 66-year-old Japanese man and his son arrived at the hostel. And after talking with them for a while, they told me that before coming to Lisbon, they passed through Santiago de Compostela, other cities in Spain, and before that they had started with a city in France. The most surprising thing about the whole journey that was about 800 km, is that they did it walking! It's the first time I've heard something like this and it's definitely something I have to add to my list of things to do!

During the steemfest it was even better, attended by people from approximately 38 different countries. I was amazed, it was the most impressive thing I had done in my life, make friends from so many countries in one place, besides being able to practice my English and try to speak Portuguese. Without a doubt, it was the Steemians that made the steemfest so far, the best experience I've had in my entire life.


Fuente de la Imagen

the Steemfest

Beyond the great people I met (which I already explained in the previous section), here I want to talk about the festival, Lisbon and the spaces we occupy during the steemfest. I want to mention that @roelandp did an excellent job, each place was better than the previous one, and already the first place (for me) had already been rated 10/10 ... Excellent service, excellent views, very good talks and most importantly ... very good food.


As I mentioned several times throughout this publication, steemfest has been the best experience in my life, and it would not have been possible without @minnowsupport @aggroed and @roelandp. I would like that even more Venezuelans (we were 2 this year) could have had the opportunity to attend, and I want to tell you that it is really worth the experience.

I hope to have the opportunity to attend again and to see them all again at the Steemfest3 !!


Sort:  

It was great to have you there! You are an inspiration for lots of people here in europe and proof that Steemit can have a big impact all around the world! Keep up the good work my friend :) See you again sometime!

oh man, you make me blush (?)... in a few days i will publish the video we made with your camera.. first i want to learn how to edit a video correctly

yeah! can't wait ;) The camera work is amazing Im sure....!

It was so great to meet both of you at Steemfest & Sintra! Great minds think alike! I’m still in awe of that place ❤️

Great to meet you in Steemland! ;)
That walk the Japanese guy and his son did that you mentioned is The Camino, a very famous pilgrimage in the north of Spain. I've been meaning to do it for a while, but haven't yet... maybe next year!

Wow, i didn't know that .. maybe someday i could walk that too.. seems to be cool

It was nice meeting you - looking forward to seeing you next Steemfest.

It was nice meeting you too, thanks for the 20 SBD, I already transferred it to the savings for the next steemfest.

I love the part about the 3 blonde girls from london hahah

everyone loves that part bro, everyone hahaha

Nice to meet you my friend. And...did you get the girl? :)

was nice to meet you too bro... that question hurts =( hahaha

Hi ~i'm korean I saw you at Steemfest.
Do you remember the steembanner I gave you as a gift?
I want to see you again next year at Steemfest.

Congratulations @siersod! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey buddy! I was kind of drunk at the time but I'm pretty sure we met at the Snooker Club. You told me about your father entering Steemit Open Mic. Remember?

Hey, im not sure if i meet you at steemfest, but i think you may refer to @oscarcc89.. if I have not met you yet, it's a pleasure to meet you now =D