You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Pitch

The first thing you all at the top need to do is get ride of the free down votes. Down voting should cost at twice as much (or more) to down vote someone than the down vote takes away.

My thoughts exactly, been saying this since I returned to Steem in October and discovered there was such thing as a downvote. On my very first post back, after being away for over a year, some asshat downvoted me with no reason stated.

I would go a step further than just paying for the downvote. Require the downvoter comment as to why it is being downvoted.

Sort:  

But he downvoted with so few power that it doesn't even matter, why don't you complain about all the accounts spamming micro-upvotes? It takes as many rewards from you as those micro-downvotes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good enough point. But I think it is just the negative message it sends, especially when no comment is provided as to why, nor do I like the fact they are free.

That said, I wouldn't be opposed to a requirement for comment as to why content was upvoted as well. Then if the upvote is part of one of these micro-upvote or downvote pools, the comment will most likely be a canned message that can quickly be identified and the comment downvoted instead of the post.

Admittedly, I am not one who studies the guts of Steem or how it really works so may not understand the impacts or technical requirements this may have. I am mostly here for the content and community, not as an income source.