Handmade Props for SBD

in #steemgigs6 years ago (edited)

Handmade Props for SBD!

IMG20171023234953.jpg

If you've been following my blog, you would know I've been doing handmade crafts for a few years. When I was around 8 years old, I started hand sewing dresses for my Barbie dolls while children around my age played around the neighborhood. I guess I enjoyed it more than running around. I'm not that weird though, I'm still a social person but there are days where I just want to sit down and create something from my imagination.

Crochet is something I picked up after I gave birth to my first child. I admired the costumes and props when I looked at newborn photography. I do a little photography myself. The pictures I snapped here are just from my cellphone to send to my crocheter friends. I'm sharing this here in Steemit now. I know there's one or two crocheters and even those who don't who can appreciate the art and craft. :)

For this crochet project, I'm going to show the progress from yarn to beanie. This is a lady bug beanie for a toddler.


1.jpg

First, you would need some yarns and hooks. The sizes of the yarn and hook would depend on the project you are making.

IMG20171023220332.jpg

How to crochet would be an entirely different tutorial so I'm just going to show the progress. You are going to make a little upside down boat.

IMG20171023223017.jpg

The basic beanie is now formed.

IMG20171023225110.jpg

The yarn is braided and attached to the beanie.

IMG20171023231511.jpg

For the black dots and appliques the I used black felt since the costume is going to be used in just a few hours. It can be made with yarn but will take longer. These were cut freehand. No patterns were used.

IMG20171023234953.jpg

The appliques are attached.

IMG20171023235307.jpg

Inspected the beanie on top of a milk can. I just used whatever material I could find since I didn't have a toddle mannequin head.

IMG20171024001932.jpg

The final look! Sorry for the blurry pic. I didn't want to show my client's face.

IMG20171024065852.jpg


1.jpg


I do projects like these and so much more. Just comment below if you are interested. Costs would range from 4 to 6 SBD depending on the difficulty. This is excludes shipping though. My location is in Cebu, Philippines.

All photos in this blog are my own original content.


1.jpg

Borders by: Designed by Freepik
Crochet pattern inspired by: Repeat Crafter Me

Photography by: @ablaire
Camera: Nikon 3200
Date: Summer 2017
Location: White Sands Beach, Cebu, Philippines

ablaire.png

Let's us support @surpassinggoogle by voting @steemgigs as Steemit Witness.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ablaire from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Very nice work! Thanks for sharing your process and your little "bug" looks adorable! If you have time drop into the #needleworkmonday Coffee Hour, Monday on Discord. Just look at the Coffee Hour post on my blog for the link. Hope to see you there.