A wizard with words — I'm here to help!

in #steemgigs6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

I am a freelance writer and editor with experience doing websites, articles, software tutorials/documentation, bios, taglines, and social media posts. I've worked with small business owners in a variety of industries, but my favorite subjects to write about are emerging technology (especially crypto!), cannabis/alternative medicine, and entrepreneurship/business development. My background also includes some hobby programming and Linux administration experience, and I'm actively seeking open source projects to contribute to.

Having started my freelance career on Upwork about 1.5 years ago, I am super excited about the potential for SteemGigs. Upwork takes a 20% cut and didn't provide any real value for me beyond it's network effect. They tout their escrow service and guaranteed payment for hourly workers, but in my experience there's never been a dispute with a client that required such intervention. Maybe I'm lucky, or maybe that's a sign I'm working with the right people.

Anyway, seeing Ethlance got me excited about the possibility of a decentralized freelance marketplace. However, it has a somewhat high bar to entry, requiring Metamask and a purchase of ether to get started. It seems to be serving mostly as a job board at this point with pretty limited listings. So, piggybacking SteemGigs on top of Steem's established user base and reward features makes awesome sense and I'm stoked to see this thing grow!

Here's a link to my (somewhat outdated) website, where you can check out some of my past work and see some praise from my clients. Although I've stopped using Upwork at this point, you can also check out my profile there for more client reviews.

Do you need help articulating ideas for your business or personal venture? Are you part of an open source project that needs help with documentation or tutorials? Drop me a comment and let's chat about making that a reality!

That's me, writing That's me, writing away!

Sort:  

Good promo article.

Good luck finding some gigs. Please keep us updated on how SteemGigs works out for you.
@tincanjunction

Thanks! I will certainly post a report if I see any action around here.

i am following you.
Hello friend, and vote for your post, i would love you to vote for my publication.
Nice article you have.
welcome to steem I hope your future will be bright.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by scott from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.