Nothing to Hide + Painfully Clear

in #steemhelp6 years ago

...So, my husband made me get into cryptocurrency -- Any other loyal spouses out there? Just 'cause I'm supportive doesn't mean I have any idea what the h*ll I am doing. (Is it OK to curse on here, or no?)

Steemit NEWBIE.png

Why Steemit Got My Attention

Before I tell you personal details about myself (other than that I'm willing to follow my husband into unfamiliar territory), I'll tell you why I'm here. Before learning about Steemit, I was used to faintly hearing YouTube videos of dudes talking crypto as hubby walked by or sat at his desk. -- Any female experts out there, by the way? -- I'd sit and listen to a whole lot I didn't understand. And I'll admit, I was pretty skeptical -- until he told me about this place. And I like y'all!

I was a freshman in college when Facebook was born. By the time I hit the workforce, businesses were starting to see the value in social media. In my early 20s, I was speaking to large groups of professionals twice my age about how to get started using something embedded into my day-to-day. Long story short, social media is my weakness. I geek out.

Questions and Challenges

Where to begin.

Before diving in, I like to do my research. The search functionality needs love. Through this process, I find myself learning HTML along the way. OK, I'm exaggerating a bit, but you know what I mean. Lots to learn, but that makes it unique. How do you search for topics to read about and how do you search for topics that need more love for posting ideas?

What dimensions will make that header image the full width of the page? I'm a graphics junky that doesn't know Adobe. Thanks, Canva!

Obviously, there are people or accounts here that are only here to make a buck. Took me all of 5 minutes to get that message loud and clear. I'm here for the content; and by content, I mean not crypto talk. I'll learn about cryptocurrency along the way; that's inevitable. Here, I want to do what I love -- write about what I love. I'm into art, photography, career development advice, working mom stories, food, and travel. Who should I follow?

Lastly, my dear steemians, you have your own language! Anyone have a dictionary? I need a translator. Eager to learn.

This is Not My Intro

I'll save that for later. Until now, I'm just a newbie looking for advice and chill conversation.

I'm proudly corny, so here's a quote: "Take football out of it, we are a real family. We are a real family." - Alshon Jeffery, World Champion

Keep it real, Steemit family.

//////////

Sort:  

Not a female but...I am happy to say my wife supports my newly discovered interest into crypto mining. I have a 6 card (1070) rig arriving on Wednesday and I think she is almost as excited as me! I would love for spouses to become interested together. Good Luck!

Very cool, @alaskaslacker. Agree - Much more fun doing it together! My better half is pretty pumped to see me get into it. Ugh, ouch - I think my voting power is weak (?) So much to learn . . .

Welcome to steemit! My husband convinced me to join last week and I'm still trying to learn too! I've watched a few youtube videos that explain it, but it would be nice to find a female translator. I don't speak nerd! lol

We are in the same boat! Happy to see I'm not alone 😋 You look too be doing well! How did you increase your reputation points? My 25 is killing me. Enjoy; I'll follow.

I just started leaving comments like these, and upvoting!

I'm in the opposite boat. I've been talking my husbands ear off about this site but I can't convince him to join. haha
A lot of the crypto stuff is still way over my head, but the way I see it. I'm just as smart as the guys so I can learn in time.
Best of luck in figuring the site out! It's a lot of fun, and the community is very pleasant. I hope you enjoy it!