You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steemhunt] A new Guide for Steemhunt beginners

in #steemhunt6 years ago

This is a very useful guide for new and potential hunters on Steemhunt, and I was happy to see it. The graphics used enhanced it well, and the structure of the guide was quite good.

However, I do have some issues with grammar and style. I'll cite some examples.

  • "As a new hunter, there are a ton of questions" is not quite a sentence. It could be "New hunters have a ton of questions." It could be "As a new hunter, you probably have a ton of questions." But it can't be the existing hybrid.

  • "You are good to go when you have read the posting guideline and also the detailed article" has a couple of issues. First, it's not "guideline." It's "guidelines." Also, I would put "once" instead of "when." Finally, "also" is redundant. So, here's what a slightly edited version would look like: "You are good to go once you have read the posting guidelines and the detailed article."

  • "Make sure to read the posting guideline Nr. 6 first." I have a couple of issues with this one. First, you're basically putting in the entire guideline in the post. So why read it? Why not say "as outlined in posting guideline #1," and move on from there? Also, the word "the" before "posting" is redundant. Finally, the standard abbreviation for "number" is not "Nr." It is "no."

  • "Make sure that you use your own words as all kind of plagiarism are not allowed at Steemhunt" also has a few issues. First, I would use "to" instead of "that you." More importantly, "all" cannot be followed by a singular form. It should be "all kinds," or - and this would be better - "plagiarism of any kind is." Thus, the edited sentence would be "Make sure to use your own words as plagiarism of any kind is not allowed at Steemhunt."

These are not huge issues. This is a good post. But it could have been better, and I hope my gentle nudging will help make future posts better. I look forward to the next one.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks a lot, @didic and your guidance are always appreciated. I think I need to restructure how I write English at all. Your advice text is much easier to read and understand, but it is not coming fluently from my side. Hope you don`t get exhausted with me. It could take some time to change it and make it mine. :)

While English is not my first language, I've been reading and writing in it, including professionally, for many years now. My level of proficiency took a long time, and a lot of work. Plus, my day job is translating books from English, so I definitely read a lot more English than even Hebrew.

So I totally understand. I am not frustrated nor exhausted. I see the work you're putting in, and I appreciate it.

Thanks, didic and yes I agree that it will take time, as I started just a few months ago to write this kind of text in English. Utopian-io helped a lot to make it better from post to post and I am very thankful for that.

Just realized from your reply that I was using the German no. metric all the time... (English is my third language) Thanks for that. :)

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 5 contributions. Keep up the good work!