You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Octobo - Storytelling meets Creative Technology

in #steemhunt6 years ago

Let's assume you are right. Influencers doesn't upvote their friends. What about the subjectivity about the 'coolness'.

Influencers upvoted the content and not the product. (If they upvoted the product is so strange as those products has no use, like this one.)
Why a single ''uncool" post (in my opinion) is upvoted by more than 1 influencer?

And of course I am upvoting my friends when I see a lot of shitty groups from Nigeria and Koreea taking the first places all time. Of course I am upvoting my friend @lordoftruth when he was wronged a lot of times and you did nothing.

Now besides we have those groups we have another group called 'influencers'. If someone thing a toy is a cool product for steemhunt the others come and upvote it. nice.

I don't know why I care so much about this, I am not even posting but maybe I like the idea of the project.
I still like it?

Sort:  
  1. Everyone has subjective way of thinking. That's why we run Influencers as a community-based group. We do have our internal guideline what is cool or not, and we look people's voting history before we invite IFs. Thus, we keep inviting the people who has "right eyes" to judge, this group works will be beneficial for all of us. We also evaluate them weekly basis. If we think some of IFs have voted wrong hunts, we won't continue his/her role. Please suggest if you can think better way than this. I'm so ready to hear that.
  2. Another not fact -> Korean?? So far yes, Nigerian, Turkish, Chinese, Filipino, Korean... So many community voters changed our ranking chart, but after we run Diversity Scores, the impact from Korean and Chinese reduced dramatically because they do not run v4v system. Right now turkish and nigirean voting pool are still strong because THEY RUN V4V OPERATION.

I have no suggestion but to eliminate subjectivity from the system...that's my biggest problem

Influencers upvoted the content and not the product.
-> wrong again.
Influencers upvote on cool products, not well written content. They all understand Steemhunt is a curation project, not a writing service.

You may not think this product is cool. That's fine because "coolness" is a subjective term anyway.

If you complain about "this product took the top ranking because they've done circle jerking between their friends", that's a good point, and we'll have to find a solution. However, if you're just complaining because this top product is not your taste, we have nothing to do about that.

I complain that the first product took the top because of the mods, influencers and subjectivity. Anyway. Thanks for your time,

I will be silent, I am not gonna hunt products to be judged by others subjectivity.

I know giving more powers to influencers could be considered "unfair" for other community members, but I think it is the most effective solution so far (You know the ranking board was like circle jerking contest few days ago, and it's not way better IMHO).

Those mod / influencer systems can be changed any time when we find a better solution.

I don't consider it unfair. I consider unfair if they use wrong they power..Yes you will find better solutions once you will detect new problems..