Sort:  

That was one of my downvotes as well. Stay away from the Germans! lol and also H*****'s page. I thought I had warned you about Mr H. B*****'s people/bots will get you just for commenting. :(. I commented on a bitcoin article once there and got nailed.

I don't know what the impact of such a downvote is. I saw that it was a 10% downvote, but he got A LOT of Steem Power.

It mainly hurts your reputation. I think I would be at 60 or higher if I never got any downvotes. It does take away your earnings as well though.

Takes earnings away for that one post?

Yes just that one post or comment that they downvote.

hi @cyrano.witness

you wrote:

If ypu think of upvoting as the carrot, then downvoting is the whip.

From my perspective, downvoting on steemit is closer to declaring someone a war than just the whip.
Downvoting someone with more SP for creating shitty content fired back at so many people, that it's scary to use this tool.

Downvoting is a powerful tool being abused left and right and I would never recommend to use if you're not ready for a flag war.

@frankvvv
I agree with you :/