Steemit Slider Bar

in #steemit-ideas8 years ago

A Steemit slider bar to adjust the vote strength of your steemits.

Could be an advanced feature or hidden in a carrot along-side a "steemit" button[1], or as a :onHover attribute.
Moved the downvote to upper right, out of the way.
The layout here has a facebook feel. Could do with or without the "like" button as thats kind of covered in a "steemit" or upvote (if you prefer)

What do you think?

[1] https://steemit.com/steem/@xeldal/add-a-steemit-button

Sort:  

I was talking about precisely this the other day with seraph. This would be helpful for people like me who like to curate lots of content, but prefer to be able to control how much power I put behind various posts. I do think there should be a cap on how much power can be used on any one vote though.

I believe 100% is the cap, and that's like 5% of your daily allowance, before you need to recharge.

Where would you place the cap? It seems fair to let someone use their full 100% if they'd like to.

I think it makes voting too complicated, and would not be a useful feature for the majority of Steemit users. The majority of Steemit users now are probably unaware that voting weight is selectable in the steemd backend.

For those not in the slack this is part of an ongoing discussion on UI changes to allow selectable voting weight. For now, this is only a concern for the handful of people with 'whale' accounts. If the UI is changed to allow selective voting weight, I'd like to see it be an "Advanced voting" option setting, on a yet-to-exist Steem Settings page.

Maybe instead of it being so granular (1-100%) we could do a low-medium-high approach?

It's an interesting idea, and maybe I don't have a firm enough grasp of the workings of Steem, but it would undermine the purpose of Steem Power and powering up. If you're upvoting something, it's in your best interest to throw your full weight behind that "promotion". Upvoting is basically saying "I think this content is popular, valuable, and will continue to be upvoted as more people see it". To add a slider is to lose the meaning of the upvote.

This feature would only be interesting for bigger holders.
Voting with full power drains 5% of your voting power, to recover it you need to stop for a while. Rule of thumb is 20 votes with full power a day.

I'm not one of the biggest whales here, but my vote with full power already gives 7$ or so. I'd like to adjust that value, enabling me to spread my votes and the resulting rewards over more posts. Right now I don't vote for external links, videos or pictures at all, because I prefer posts that took the author some efforts. When I could adjust the voting power I'd give funny posts or interesting links a small upvote at least.
And I do know for certain that this is even more true for at least some of the bigger guys.

Haha yep, figured that out after xeldal's post. Thanks anyway. :) Makes sense to me. I was thinking about it from my own perspective originally as a new user, but hadn't considered the logical extension of steem power aggregation, ie "whales".

Thank you "pharesim. I love your thoughtful inputs on here.

My thinking as fuzzyvest mentions, Because you can only vote a limited number of times at full power in a 24 hour period. If you are inclined or enjoy voting for more content more often than that, being able to adjust your weight for each item is a big plus.
edit: For example I'd like to upvote everyone in this discussion, but If I did, I might be done for the day

Ah, I can see the value of that, particularly if you have a lot of voting power compared to the average user. This seems like it would thus be useful specifically for advanced or "power"-users.

Is this mixture suggested or not:

How to get this?

Remember both products could be obtained from their respective websites and no third aspect is associated with its buy so be careful as the organization will maxtropin not be careful for it.Every man wants a great resiliency and amazingly identified personal personal personal whole personal entire body program. If you want to impress and look and entice attention ambient necessarily try the effect of the supplement on fast improve in muscles, called Maxtropin.
http://www.shaperich.com/maxtropin/

I might want something like this, too.

I guess it's not possible to do this in the blockchain level right now? So there needs to be changes in the blockchain and in the UI which are separate issues. In the future there will be other UIs also, so it's better to think this first on blockchain level. When the best function is founded, then think about how to implement it in the UI.

I'd guess maybe five steps might be optimal: 20 %, 40 %, 60 %, 80%, 100 %. Maybe even four or three. Maybe five first, and then look what percentages are used most and drop everything else?

the blockchain already supports 0 - 100% and everything in-between. You can do it manually with the CLI, it's just a matter of what would work best for a steemit GUI.

Oh, cool, I didn't know that. If it's in the blockchain already, it of course makes everything easier.

I agree that we would need a feature to adjust our voting power, but this would be most useful for the whales. Some votes will give 1000 USD and many posts are not worth that much, so the whales can't really vote on everything that they like without over rewarding people.

good post.thanks @xeldal

Nice post

Follow me @rizkiarif

I think that would be a good idea. Would be very useful

Hi, I dont know if you will answer me,but I have nothing lose. How's the feeling when you have that big amount of $?? Im very curious 🙂

You should post often man!

I have been wondering hearing about the slider bar.
How does one use it ? Do you have to enable it or have a certain amount of Steem Power?

Hi, I'm Venezuelan, I like your post. Can you give me your vote in my post? @xeldal

Loading...

Thank you very much for the support from friend @xeldal