Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02: Carrot Ginger Soup (vegan)

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Hey foodies!

This week's theme of @steemit-ironchef is all about carrots.

Carrots are very versatile. That's why they are included in so many recipes. But there's only one recipe in my repertoire that features carrots in a way that it's the star of the show: Carrot Ginger Soup. The perfect comfort food for the upcoming fall and winter season. It's sweet and savoury with a little hit of ginger. The colours are bright. Ideal for a grey and cold day during fall or winter. It fills you up with warmth and healthy nutrients.

Thanks @progressivechef for creating this awesome contest by the way. It's amazing that steemit offers such great opportunities for all us foodies here!

Carrot Ginger Soup

IMG_20170909_201335.jpg

Ingredients

(for 4 servings)

  • 500 g carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 2 gloves of garlic
  • 1 small piece of ginger
  • 2 tbsp oil (I used canola oil)
  • 1000 ml vegetable broth
  • salt & pepper
  • optional: coconut milk

Directions

  1. Roughly chop carrots, onion, garlic and ginger.
  2. Heat up the oil in a big pot, sauté the vegetables until they get slightly brown. Deglaze with the vegetable broth. Let it cook until the vegetables are soft, so that you are able to blend them with a blender or immersion blender. Blend it until you get a smooth consistency.
  3. Season with salt and pepper if necessary. You can add some coconut milk (or any other vegan cream alternative) if you want a creamier soup. Enjoy!

IMG_20170909_201359.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post!

If so, please don't forget to resteem, upvote and follow me! 😊

Sort:  

looks delicious food @alinalisa.
i want to make it if i can..
your post is make me hungry..

Thank you @van14! I hope you get a change to make it some time. :)

Congratulations on a wonderfully plant-powered post!

This post has been resteemed by @plantpowerparty!
@plantpowerparty aims to support and encourage plant-powered recipes like this one right here!
🌿🌱🌺🍇🍉🍌🍍

Thank you for sharing! Steem on!

(PS @plantpowerparty is looking for a logo! If you or anyone you know can create one, come on over to the page for more info!)

Thank you for your support @plantpowerparty! :)

I like carrots, onion and ginger. This is a healthy recipe, just what I need.

Perfect! I'm thrilled that you like it! :)

got a raging cold at the moment this soup is just what I need looks delicious !

Yes, this soup would be definitely be good for your cold. Ginger is perfect for healing infections! :)

Oh yes my friend, carrots soup with ginger...just an amazing combination! Simple , tasty and healthy! Your soup color is just so lovely!
Did you know that you miss the proof photo!? hahaha!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Hey @progressivechef!
Thanks for your comment. And yes, a few minutes after posting I realised that I failed. :( I hope I'll have some time left to make something new with carrots. Otherwise I have no valid entry this week. I'm so angry with myself because of this stupid mistake...

Thanks for the recipe @alinalisa! I'm looking forward to trying it with the coconut milk option!

You're welcome! I'm thrilled about that! :D

Looks vibrant and flavorful!

Yes it is indeed! Thanks! :)

I'm glad you like it @steemit-2018! :) You're welcome!