You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 12: Saffron-Braised Celery with Wild Cherries and Flowers

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Wow homegrown saffron. Is it difficult to grow? Looks like a nice experiment. Though I wouldn't know where to get the seeds. A lovely meal to btw. As always!

Sort:  

Saffron seems so easy to grow. They are bulbs, like the springtime crocus. But they should be planted in the autumn. I put them in the far back yard, where they get late afternoon sun. I don't water them at all, not even through our dry summers. The leaves are out all winter and are dying back now. The only thing I do is put wood chips around them in the winter. That's it. Here's a picture of their long, thin, floppy leaves after I put chips on them in the winter. They make a neat 'river of grass'. They would look neat in a fancy garden.

x DSC08789.jpg

Didn't know it looked like that. If I ever come along some seeds or shoots I'll def give it a try. think we might have to give it a slightly shady spot here!

i was looking into growing saffron a while back, but was quite confused. do u think i can grow them on my balcony, in a container?? (as alot of saffron already grows in spain, i figured they will be alright where i am but might need to be inside in the winter as im more north spain, near french boarder)? i probably would need to water them sometimes as my balcony is covered.