You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 11: Wild Greens of My Childhood -- Curly Dock

you had an awesome childhood and learnt some useful skills. there is something so satisfying about foraging, i guess its that basic human instinct that literally takes us back to our roots. so these are the dock leaves you rub on your sting? no idea they were good to eat? beautiful display :)

Sort:  

I had an absolute awesome childhood, for sure! And as a kid, foraging gave me a chance to contribute to the family. I know my dad talks about that -- when he was 8, he was running around by himself fishing and shooting game to bring home for dinner. It sure builds self assurance and responsibility. I've never tried rubbing Dock on a sting. @karenb54 says that's how she has used dock leaves. I'm going to have to find a patch of stinging nettles and try it myself. : )