You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #02: Spinach Wraps Wild Style - with Elm Leaves, Gingko Nuts, Cherries and More!

I figured you enjoyed blackberries, @melinda010100! You know and appreciate plenty of great wild edible plants! :D :D

American elm leaves are in my top 5 favorite tree leaves to eat. Their leaves are so much bigger than other elms -- totally worth picking some! I wonder if you have any left in your area, after the Dutch Elm disease. I hope the disease never makes its way here! The seeds from any of the Elms are good when they are green. So under-appreciated! Here's a post where I used Siberian Elm seeds to make a salad.

The gingko trees will be in an old part of town, most likely. They have to be 30-40 years old before they bear fruit. And then they have to be females, too. They are pretty cool trees. And the nutmeats are good, and not like any nuts we are used to.

Sort:  

I remember picking gallons of blackberries! Wish I could still get out and walk those fence rows!

Every street in town used to have a canopy of elms lining the streets. It was heartbreaking to lose them. You still see an occasional lone tree standing, but they are usually huge old specimens and their leaves are far out of reach.

I have seen ginko in my travels,. I.'ll be on the lookout.