Steemit Iron Chef 2018 act 01 round 12: No Waldorf Salad

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

Good day!!

Celery

That's the week’s product.

I must admit I only use celery as a crudite to dip when I make hummus. And I admit I like it also. I really don’t know why I don’t use it more often. I guess is a matter of habit.

This is one of the reasons why I love Steemit Iron Chef. Becouse it makes me think about food, about how to use it. And makes me try new things, experiment and discover new flavours.

I love food and cooking.

Back to celery, I decided to give my twist to waldorf salad. Beeing one of the main ingredients.

So this week I made:

_DSC6572.jpg

No Waldorf Salad

Ingredients:

  • Celery
  • Apple
  • Nuts
  • Dates
  • Lime
  • Sesame
  • Mustrad seeds
  • Mustard
  • Mayonnaise
  • Apple vinegar

  • _DSC6577.jpg

    That is an easy and fresh salad, great for a light dinner or a summer meal.

    The only secret is to squeeze a lemon over the apple to prevent this ugly brown colour. I changed it for a lime because I prefer its flavour.

    Cut your ingredientes nicely and make a dressing with some mayonnaise, mustard and a pinch of apple vinegar.

    Dress it and make a nice plating.

    _DSC6568.jpg

    Its a crunchy fresh salad. The celery flavour combines with the apple sour and dates sweetness. All dressed with mustard and the vinegar punch.

    Enjoy!!

    _DSC6576.jpg

    Another week thanks to @progressivechef for organice this contest. And to the sponsors, @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares, @sjennon and @bambam808

    We will keep posting!!

    Have a great week!!!

    Steeeeemmmmmmmmm

    Sort:  

    That looks really good! And I like both the celery sticks and the root (celeriac?). I like to add the one you have here to soups too - it gives a nice flavour. And to smoothies - but here you really have to like the flavour ;)

    Yes, anyway with the dressing It gets softer...It was good!!

    Looks and sounds so beautiful and fresh !

    Thanks!!

    Como siempre me encanta! Que apetitosa, tan fresquita...

    Gracias!! Estaba buena la verdad!

    I'd love to start eating right away ...

    Hehehe

    I agree so much about how the Steemit Iron Chef pushes us to try new things. I think that's why, even when I'm not on Steemit much, I still have a 100% entry rate for this contest. I like your take on the Waldorf salad -- excuse me, the No-Waldorf, lol. Celery and fruit go so well together. And your photos really shine! Have a great weekend! :D

    Yes...I learned a few things posting for this :)
    The salad was good btw.

    looks fresh and healthy nice :)

    It's awesome, I hope you are selected as the winner for this round @jorgegp.

    looks tasty, good luck for the challenge

    The main idea of Sic is really to make the contestants think outside the box and prepare something they've never did before...Bravo for always coming up with such yummy dishes mate!
    This bowl is soooo tempting btw! I can have it anytime!