Steemit makes me feel like Mohammed Ali!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

THE STORY
I find myself writing down a lot of personal what to do's and adding up to my bucket list of what I'll do for my community, city and even continent, if I'm successful on steemit; and yes by successful I mean getting more upvotes for my posts. I've always felt helpless to witness on a daily basis the hardships people in my community face and I have always wished I could do something about it. I want to be able to give back to the community that raised me. In my country, rural people face a lot of challenges ranging from marginalization and non-recognition by governments and other ethnic groups, to poverty, AIDS/HIV & other health conditions, and illiteracy. The list is unending.
I always encourage my friends and neighbors that we all let the values that Muhammad Ali stood for to sink into our heads and minds so that we are not continually fooled by politicians who claim they have provided us with world class medical care but will jet to Dubai when they have headaches; will educate their children in London and New York when they say they have provided first-class educational infrastructure; drink imported bottled water after claiming to have given us more water than we need; fix the roads leading to their homes whilst claiming they have fixed the nation.


How I feel right now. At the front line with the weight of lives to change on my shoulder.

THE GUTS
I made a statement at lunch time after a conference in 2014 & my friends felt I was too aggressive, too influential, too thorny, they probably felt this was me suggesting a violent overthrow of the government when I said “I wish we had guts like the people of Ukraine”. This was after the people of Ukraine had said no to a government that was corrupt, ineffective and one that seemed too detached from them. They had the cajones to drive the government way. I've always wished to be able to take control of my finances and be free from the ever value-depreciating of my country's currency, the cedi. Steemit on the other hand offers opportunities and freedom to actually make your dreams a relaity. Anytime I sign in on steemit, I get goosebumps to read the trending posts and day dreaming how these upvotes could change my life.


I don't know what you want but I don't accept defeat! Ali was the greatest. He said he was the greatest even before he became the greatest. That is a true example of guts!

THE HOPES
I see a lot of potential in steemit and that's what gives me umpth to go on just like mohammed Ali. While I’m all for trying new social platforms, I’m definitely approaching the platform with extreme caution, as there’s a few details about it that just don’t add up as I'm still new and almost every article I've read has different opinions. Thanks to the whitepaper (I just read it) it has actually cleared a lot of misconceptions I had. I know 'm not magically going to get rich from it as it seems like on the trending posts but I hope it actually goes great for me. Steemit poses as a free money making machine and that is one wrong idea I hope newbies would stay away from. As the old saying goes, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Yes, that is true, but be happy about the fact that, if it's too good to be true then at least it's good enough to be talked about. I hope steemit is just not another hope raiser but a potential for all of us to achieve our dreams.


I tell you all new steemers who share my story, never give up! Our time will definitely come.

Sort:  

I feel very inspired right now. Thank you very much for posting this :)

You're welcome @kakradetome! Lets keep going.