You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Deal With The Discouraging Feeling Of Being Overlooked.. And My Contribution To Solve The Problems!

in #steemit8 years ago

Great insights here. It's definitely an entirely different world here in Steemit land..

On one hand, when I put a TON of effort into a post and it doesn't get much engagement it makes me sad.

On the other, it motivates me to learn from what I wrote and try to improve.

The reality is, what "takes off" is a bit of a crap shoot, but I've found that if I enjoy the process of creating content even if it doesn't "succeed" I've still won in the long run.

Ideally, the posts we put the most effort into would do the best, but that's just not how the world works. A great reminder.

I like how you're celebrating your small wins as a non professional writer! It's an accomplishment that you took the time and courage to share your thoughts here so you should be very proud!

That being said, I know deep down to truly succeed with Steemit you have to show up on a consistent basis. Maybe that's not daily for you, or others, but for me that's what I deem is the par for the course.

It's kind of fun not knowing "what" will take off. It's both exciting and scary.

I'm excited to bere. Here's to hoping this post takes off. :)

Sort:  

Thank you. I appreciate your kind words and I agree with most of what you've said here.

This part however:

That being said, I know deep down to truly succeed with Steemit you have to show up on a consistent basis. Maybe that's not daily for you, or others, but for me that's what I deem is the par for the course.

I agree with that too. That's the reason for my posts. I've been posting every single day since I joined steemit.. The thing is, that one can't keep up to produce great quality and good posts each day for a longer period of time. Sooner of later, you'll run out of things to write about. The time that takes obviously varies from person to person, based on tons of things. Experience, writing skills or whatever. But the fact still remains. You won't be able to write 2 or 3 awesome posts for a longer period of time.. And even though that would be the best thing to do, in terms of exposure, I have to step down. I can't create multiple post each day. I don't have enough time to spend doing that. It takes too long for me to write good posts. This one took med about 2 hours.. Meanwhile other authors might have done it in less than 15 minutes. If you post multiple times per day, you'll end up with less quality content in the long run. At least if most of the cases.. And that's not something I want to see on steemit.

Thanks for the upvote & the comment. I appreciate it! :)

For sure! I think what it comes down to is self awareness. I'm a writer by craft, so I'm able to churn out a high quality post in as little as 30 mins. Sometimes, posts take me longer perhaps 3-4 hours etc.

My personal approach is to just listen to the community. What are they struggling with? What content is getting the most engagement and start there! For example, I probably have 3-4 posts in the pipeline just based on my own frustrations/learnings with Steemit thus far.

I also try to engage with the comments as much as possible which gives me inspiration for future posts.

That being said, I totally understand what you're saying. Not everyone is going to make a living, or even a sizable amount of money on Steemit, and that's perfeclty okay.

We all come here for different reasons and it's important we stay true to or goals so to speak.

While I know you're going to be posting less frequently moving forward, I genuinely enjoy your posts.

Thank you once again. I truly appreciate your kind words and I agree with what you've said here. However, I wouldn't go with "what others are struggling with" myself. I would keep doing what I do best. I focus on my thing. With that being said.. You might just be on to something, and it's possibly the best approach.

I wish you the best of luck! :)

I liked it!