Why you should stop commenting " Please vote me, follow me " and do this instead-Steemit Newbie tips#3

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

After more than a month in Steemit, and 1050 followers,

Here are my trips

Tips for steemit newbies; Road to success in steemit community # 3

Commenting is a great way to make friends and get noticed, but if you are doing it wrong, you will be considered as spam.

So here is Why you should stop commenting " Please vote me, follow me "

You are chasing away the whales

Can you imagine to be someone who wake up and see a bunch of people commenting on your post with " Please vote me" " I follow you, follow me back " .

Please be considerate, everyone here wants a vote from the whale. But by commenting those words, you are not only making them annoyed , but also make them hesitant to use the platform. Who wants to use a platform when it starts to become unenjoyable?

The people in this community are so incredibly nice and if you post great posts and you will surely be rewarded. But again, nothing comes easily .

You will get down voted , blacklisted and your reputation will decrease

  • If someone keep seeing your account commenting like that, You are very likely to get down voted soon . Because you are giving no value to this platform.

You are giving the opposite effect and it's simply not nice

People will only take you as spammy person.
Example of the spammy comments:

help me please
please come to my blog
I beg you please give me my post
Hi friend I am a newcomer in steemit, please follow me
I vote you, please vote me back
I follow you, follow me back

More followers don't mean , more votes or money

Right now I have more than 1000 followers and most of the time I only get 25 to 35 on average views on each post( I always make sure my contents are good quality posts, spend a lot of time writing, editing good photos and researching hours even if I get it from the internet) . That also mean only a handful of people are reading your contents even if you have a lot of followers.

In short, if your content is good and consistently writing and posting at the correct time , I will write more on the posting time .You only need 50 followers but that may be what it takes.

Like I say there are nice people here who still want to discover good contents.

So How Should you comment?

  • First Read the content. Yes, very simple but most of us aren't doing it.
  • If english is not your first language, try to use dictionary and translate to understand better. ( English is not my first language too)
  • If you are lazy to look up words, try commenting on posts from hashtag like #photography ,colorchallenge . It is easier to go through them and eye catching.
  • Spend time to comment with meaningful words on posts.
  • Learn from others ( Read through all the comments and see how other people comment and learn from their interactions)
  • If the topic is something you don’t know and have no idea, just skip. You can try commenting on next posts
  • It is better not to comment than commenting "follow me, please vote me"or Just simply say “ Thank you for sharing your knowledge” to appreciate their effort
  • Comment on posts that interests you. In that way, you can follow them and make friends with them. In return, they will mostly follow you back.
  • You don’t have to comment on a bunch of posts and always remember it will take a meaningful comment to get noticed /get rewards on your comment and other users might follow you from that comment too.

Note: I do not own any of the meme pictures, they are used for entertainment purpose. Not a know it all person in steemit, but while learning my journey here, I am just sharing things that I have learnt.

We sometimes do things because we didn't know, but once we know it is not a good thing, we can learn from it and improve ourselves.

No great thing is created suddenly - Taking time

It takes time to build a relationship, a career, a house.If we try to
speed the process up, we are likely to become frustrated.Worse, we may
build something that is less than what we had hoped for.

As I put together the pieces of my life, I recognise that I cannot and
should not hurry the important things.I want whatever I build to be
sturdy and long-lasting.
-Quote

I hope this tip is useful. Let me know what you think of this series and comment if you have any questions or tips.

Thank you for reading..Hope you enjoy it , remember to up-vote if you like it , resteem and leave a comment of what you think.
Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

Great post for newbies 👌 some might also benefit from this one https://steemit.com/steemit/@crypto-expo/the-do-s-and-dont-s-of-steemit

great post. upvoted so other people can have a look too.

i am a newbie and am trying to get involved.

Thanks for sharing this information. Is useful for all of us.

Agreed! I have only been on Steemit for maybe 20 days now, but I find that way too many of the people are commenting 'follow me plz' on my posts, instead of reading them, and making a meaningful gesture. I don't need people to write an essay, but at least show that you read what I put together with so much freaking care. :) I hope you have a great day, and plz don't follow me. :P JK.

agree, unfortunately it happens. Have a nice day too. followed :P

Hahaha!! Reverse psychology works everytime. JK :) Followed you as well.

Thank you for sharing with us! I hope you enjoy the upvote!

Great post, so true. Upvoted and resteemed.

I found this when I signed up to Youtube a while ago, spamming LIKE, SUBSCRIBE, COMMENT happened like crazy! Very few of the comments were any kind of meaningful discussion which was a bit disappointing. Maybe I'm naive on the internet but I like a good conversation instead of just spam comments. I grew tiring of that platform and stopped posting.

I like Steemit for the reason that there are quality posts and often quality comments. Reddit has a good comments section aswell. Most other platforms people don't really converse and are just one-way self promotion. Keep up the good work.

This is such a great article for those who do this "please vote/follow me."

but still receiving the same comment. :)

I enjoy reading your post and I appreciate the amount of time you take to help this community. You are truly a giver and The Holy Word says that it is more blessed to give than to receive. I do believe that you will reap what you sew and in that regard you have some serious reaping to do dear friend. I am praying for your blessing and peace. Thank you for sharing your time with us...Shalom, Brother Charlz

Thank you very much.. I am glad at least there is someone who appreciate it. have a nice day.

Very useful post, thank you for sharing! @mateyav

thank you very much

Thanks! This is really important for guys like me 😸 😸
I will surely put it into practice 😳