You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Rise of Identity Theft on Steemit.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I am really trying, cheetah.
I check the new posts a lot and its getting ridiculous the amount of fakes and impersinators. Many post links from all of the different social media platforms to make it more believable.

Identity theft is nothing to joke about and these newcomers who think they can abuse the system should face consequences or get flagged. The worst part is that real and genuine users get no love when 5 other ones that may be fake spam up the section and take space. And the absolute worst part is imagine your friend one day signing up to Steemit and to later realize some random person has been pretending to be them all along on here.

I really think we need more minnows frequenting the new section of atleast the introduction posts. To welcome the real users with open arms while at the same time flag abusers.

I even created the #verified channel on slack today because of this exact problem and have made a thread to make users understand why verifying your intro posts is important: https://steemit.com/newcomers/@acidyo/what-verifying-your-account-in-introduceyourself-means-and-what-it-doesn-t-necessarily-have-to-mean

I am waiting for the day when my votes will have more value to welcome newcomers properly.

Sort:  

I'll Upvote any comment asking non-verified user to verify their identity
I'll Downvote any blog from a user who's not verified

Eh Africa, I am sure I m not verified.... so what would it take ? I just a small ou bal on the Southern most tip of Africa (well almost :) )...what exactly would be an acceptable verification procedure?

That is the problem isnt it? How do we really verify people? Will be a hard task, and there is always scammers out there.