1,500+ followers reached - My Steemit testimonial so far

in #steemit6 years ago

Dear fellow readers,
Firstly I just want to thank you if you are taking the time to read this, I'll try not to make this like some generic typical Steemit post regarding the same topic that you might usually see. I hope my feedback will be relevant, as my experience here has been interesting. I also don't have a black and white attitude toward Steemit and my experience here, so I will try and tell you things I like about it, things I dont like and what I hope to see in the future on this platform.
tttt1.jpg
When I first came to steemit and started understanding how the platform works and what the blockchain is, I was immediately impressed and thought something like this has great potential. I need to say that first, because it really is something revolutionary. The system itself encourages positive interactions, as oppose to what you would expect to see on Facebook, also interaction and curation is encouraged and rewarded, as oppose to places like google plus, where everybody only goes to spam their own stuff, you are actually incentivized to check other peoples posts here on Steemit... Not to mention the ability to earn crypto to and the way decentralization works. I could go on and on about the fundamentals of Steemit for much longer, but I'm sure you already know what I'm talking about. As a content creator I was immediately feeling very positive about this platform, I also saw it as an opportunity to reach more likminded people and escape some of the serious levels of censorship that occur on other platforms. I cover matters of public interest and world politics, so some of the stuff I talk about can be controversial, as I believe I have a much different view of things than what you would expect from the average person... or someone trapped deep into the Hegelian dialectic that is the left-right paradigm.
Pros_Cons_socialmedia-841x560.jpg
I'm going to assume I like what most people like about this platform, how unique it is and how much potential it has. My favourite thing about the platform is definitely the blockchain, how open everything is and the whole idea behind it. I also very much like the idea that anyone can grow their reach, merit and voice here, Unlike Facebook where its just about who can pay the most for ads. I also like being able to earn some crypto, but thats not why I am here. I initially came here because I was under the impression that this platform stood for freedom of speech. After some time here, not being removed from Steemit and achieving a milestone recently of 1,500+ followers, I can confirm that the platform does not censor political speech, in fact I'm not even really sure it can be done in the same way like it can on other platforms. HOWEVER... There are ways that you can be censored, unfairly targeted and have your reach mitigated - Which leads me to What I dislike most about the platform - Which I will try and explain. Like every platform, there are shills, organisations, think tanks and saboteurs getting around the platform, some of which have managed to grow some impressive size accounts on steemit, these people tend to stick together and boost each other up with likes and resteems. These people have political motivations to censor the truth and they do go around targeting peoples accounts to the point where their accounts are just unusable. This is a huge problem, especially when things like politics, religion, interpretation of data and morality are things we debate as humans today... They are all completely subjective. It goes against the idea of this platform, it goes against free speech and it also contradicts human progress. There is no way to block these people either. This is a huge problem that needs to be worked out. What I hope to see in the future of Steemit, is something similar to D-tube. An independent, blockchain protected video streaming/uploading function. THAT WOULD JUST BE AWESOME! With that said folks, Thank You for reading this post, if you enjoyed it, be sure to give it a like or resteem, all the best. Peace!

Sort:  

congratulations! keep up the good work :)

cheers

Hmm, intriguing. Could you talk a little more about why these people are doing this? Is there one particular ideology that links them together?