You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your First Month on Steemit - 23 Tips to Help You Succeed!

in #steemit6 years ago

Just observed the trending page...Basically, self-voting is widely accepted. The problem is, we all share the same rewards pool. Some votes here are worth more than others - while your vote may count to 0.1 SBD a wealthy person (whale) with massive SP can basically vote him/herself 300 SBD and much more! Yes, self-voting and buying votes from an outsiders view is unethical - there's a whole ongoing discussion about it here on Steemit. But, think within the platform, how you would succeed. Can you compete with a 300 SBD vote on subpar content that's guaranteed to hit the trending page with your 0.1 SBD vote and great content?

Sort:  

I kinda get your point. I have been posting on and off and from the way the site grew exponentially, I thought I had hit a holy grail with Steemit. But the more I am generating content here, the more I realise that it's a treasure hunt! But I still haven't had the heart to upvote a single one of my own posts! -_- I suppose it's a habit that I will learn eventually.