Local power and distributed networks

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This is the best thing our household has invested in to date (newly installed):

Solar.jpg

And yes, its not unique, not anymore, and the savings don't even add up in the same way like they used to (meh), but, I am enthusiastic about local means of energy production. I also like home grown foods, small scale farming, permaculture, localised and distributed communities... even if, in truth, I don't have all these things flourishing on my home plot.
But I'm happy to have these solar panels and here's why.

Our solar panels might not be unique but they are a localised source of energy production and I have wanted to get on the bandwagon for quite some time.
Its not just about whats right for the environment, I honestly think that localised and distributed systems that aren't centrally managed are a vital part of what we should aim for.

And that's why we are here no?


sourced from Steemit

Steemit is not a centrally controlled system. It exists on a block chain and is shared amongst a distributed network and on it we get local communities that work together to give mutual support.
Or, so I dream.

This site has its challenges and, to be honest, I have found myself daunted by the need to play the token game, and I've been doing what I do and have been refusing to play, however, I do recognise that the existence of a distributed social network that is not owned and controlled by a big brother at the hub of it all is such a promising thing.

We have lived in a World with central Governments, central banks, centralised power grids, and corporate control and to be fair there will always be people who seek power and influence.
This said, it'd be great to develop systems that support the power of exchange rather then to create only an exchange of power.
Systems that value the exchange of ideas, the exchange of local goods, the exchange of support within communities.
To me this is what makes block chain technology so exciting.
We've a long way to go but let us hope that we can produce a more self sufficient and distributed World.