Have you noticed there's a whole lotta ass-kissing on this site?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

]9)

It's really starting to annoy me that users are not authentic. I can't speak for a high ranking + steem powered folks because I am too new here but would they prefer to get authentic comments that drive the discussion? You can learn more if someone has a difference of opinion. There's a ton of Steemit cheerleading going on here but everything isn't all roses. I guess if you have been here a while, you have no reason to look back but if you care about the longevity of this platform you might want to see what things are like for a brand new user. The experience is not great and there's only one way to grow. You must be have a smooth onboarding process and the best content should be able to rise even if the new user doesn't have (rank), large follower, or STEEM POWER. A new user cares more about being noticed then making rewords. Getting noticed gives them hope. Hope helps them create their next post. Lets compare to reddit. People submit with the hopes their item will climb and get karma points and loads of comments. It doesn't matter if you have 0 karma or 4500 karma. Everyone has a shot. The best content finds its way to the top. With steemit, to get to the top you rank must be high, votes come from your followers so this also needs to be high.
Does anyone know why Steemit rejects the idea of tweaker user (rank) and implementing an algorithm to surface the best post and comments.

The other day I saw a comment thread that left me scratching my head. Went something like this...
Post was $600 or so. Nothing great. But this is what you get when your follower count is high.
Comment 1: $ 15 (a worthless comment that added no value
Comment 2: $ 0 (which happened to be the best comment)
Comment 3: $8 (same guy from Comment 1, No value.)
Comment 4: 0 (Dude told comment 1 + 3 comment guy he was killing it somehow with that comment trail,)

Back to my original thought. I like to stir the pot. Get the juices flowing. I'm not calling you out because I'm right, I called you out cause your points make little sense. My goal is to never leave a comment that cannot be helpful in some capacity.

Are people afraid to be themselves because they fear the downvote? If so, who cares. You will get more respect long term if you are who you are. I am not talking about trolling. If you said something that is simply not true I will call you out because I really don't want to carry about life and spreading misinformation. I hope people will do the same for me.

Following me @alakazam if you want untraditional thoughts. Trying to build my follower number up so I can do a free giveaway for a factory sealed Wallet Ledger Nano S.

Sort:  

No need to gamble. Just write some good content to start. Don’t expect to get rewards for a long while. Unfortunately the best posts and or comments do not reach the top. The top is for those who are been here a while with high rep scores and follower numbers. To be honest, I haven’t noticed great content coming from these users. If you take away someone of value be sure to upvote comments. Build dialogue. Don’t upvote just because others have. Most seem to be not vote. I’m learning as well so we can help each other out.

Oh wow.
I can almost feel this words spewing out of your mouth lol
I have read a couple of this posts about ass kissing but the truth is, I don't think alot is going to change unless the platform makes afew changes like you stated.

Truth Be Told...Most people are on here for the shhhhmoney

Except afew who are here just to blog for the fan of it.

People are afraid of flagging. I could care less. Not here for the money. Seems like nobody cares but they are fine with all the vote bots which can’t be healthy for an ecosystem.

I noticed that. I also noticed that the "introduceyourself" tag is being misused a whole lot which is why I flagged your post. Sorry.

Well, I am new here and you learn from what others do. If your flag is "worthy," perhaps Steemit should program the website, to only let accounts post 1 time using the 'introduceyourself' tag. I have personally found some good content via the 'introduceyourself' tag that is not a user's first post which is what I believe you feel this tag is specifically for.

Since I am new here, my postings have little weight so I hope you are flagging all people who you believe are misusing tags and not just me. While I disagree with your action, thanks for the comment and flag. Both appreciated regardless.

If people are using the tag introduceyourself for posts that aren't first post introductions what's the point of having tags?

It's like me making a post with a recipe how to bake a cake and then tagging it with cryptocurrency, finance, money. People who are searching for those topics don't wnat to see posts about baking cakes.

It's not my opinon, it's kind of what the community consensus is, make your tags relevant to your post or it makes it harder to find the info your searching for.

Btw, left you a 100% upvote on your comment to balance things out. I'm not a dick, not trying to ruin peoples account, just trying to help keep this site less spammy and more usable

I understand what you are saying. As I mentioned, I am new here and since I have seen people with 45+ rank using this tag while no longer new. I agree that it makes zero sense to categorize baking with finance. I dislike that specific crypto coin or token post use the 'blockchain' tag every time. I know you are not here to ruin accounts. Thank you for coming back to discuss.

I too have noticed quite the sickly nature portrayed by a majority of users on this here "social" medium.
It effectively keeps me from committing to the medium, knowing that whatever I post I am unlikely to get any valuable critique from a community fearful to not get upvoted.

I don't know... it is for me a ghastly trap... servantry under mammon.

I hear you. You want critique tag me if a post and I will critique so you never come back? ;). Post for youself, nobody else.

I don't know what to post for myself. But thank you for so offering to critique!
It's just that I lead my life through an eternal lens, and thus find no pleasure in the contemporary creations or limited notions of Homo Insapientis, which is largely what we've been indoctrinated to believe is the only thing that matters.
I'm not talking about being in the moment, the pre-sent present, for that is verily the only timespace that exists, now-here.
I am talking more about the ignorantly gratuitious partaking of self-debilitating idolatry, whether it be in a Pitt, a Draconid reagent posing as an illegitimate Windsor, or the virulent god Mammon himself, humanity is readily apt to discard their inherent divine responsibility in order to rather stick their head in the sand...

I don't really know what to post on a medium like this...

Why don’t you take articles you commented on that you find interesting and resteem them? Feel free to restreem anything on my blog page. Currating is a good way to get involved.

I sometimes do, if I can stand for their content, but I think I focus more so on delivering perspective to estranged views.
I need to read up more on curation etc, but even just commenting has thus far proven viable to grow.