Why All Of The Whales Hate on @nextgencrypto. A message to all of you whales, good or bad.

in #steemit7 years ago

I think that this really needs to be said, and to be honest, there is so much greed on this platform, it is crazy. And no one dares to stand up and say something about it or speak on the fact that a lot of these whales are just self voting and are just being plain out greedy. Although, not all of the whales/dolphins on this platform are greedy or bad, the majority stay within their own cliques and upvote themselves and their homeboys. Watch, i'm going to get flagged down by a greedy angry whale. Mark my words...lol.

So, I honestly have respect for you, @nextgencrypto. You were willing to call the greedy self voters out and they don't like it. And that's why you've been getting flagged. You've even been deemed "bad for the platform" by the steemit founders. Isn't that crazy....Just by calling out the self voters and speaking the truth.

I honestly think that the system of steemit is rigged and the rich people on here have their won little circle where they vote on each other and make each other more powerful. And when they do vote on someone else, it is very little.

I mean, just look at what this one commenter had to say about the greed:

Screenshot from 2017-09-04 20:46:33.png

And look at this whale who keeps commenting on this guy's posts and keeps upvoting himself.

Screenshot from 2017-09-09 15:06:32.png

Screenshot from 2017-09-09 15:06:28.png

Screenshot from 2017-09-09 15:06:21.png

And all of those 15-20 dollar votes on his own comments is the same whale. So selfish and greedy, it's disgusting.

So please don't try to justify all of this greed, because it exists on here. Face it, steemit is filled with rich people who are greedy and everyone kisses up to them and defends them because they want a small piece of the pie. Something needs to be said. The greed it real on here. And the thing is, when you point it out, all you get is hate, and that is what happened to @nextgencrypto.

My last post of complaining about the selfish people on here just got a bunch of mad whales trying to justify their selfish self-voting rampage. Not all whales are like this, but a lot of them jsut upvote each other and give minnows breadcrumbs to they cover themselves and make themselves look good by sparing a 5% upvote to someone with a mildly decent article.

And the thing is, they said that I have expectations of post values or payouts, and heres my replay to that: Hell no I don't! Have you even listened to what I was saying? I never expect my posts to do well, but it is frustrating as hell to see some stripper chinese model get a bunch of money by self voting herself posting about her travel adventures and selfies funded by her steemit boob money. It's disgusting. Cough cough..... @sweetsssj

It is also disgusting when you try your hardest and make consistent and decent content and all you get is pennies, while someone posts a stupid post and gets so much for it. Steemit is so unbalanced. I'm not saying to have expectations, but at least have some standards! Come on!

The wrong people are making the money on here, and that is what I have to say. Cough cough.

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  
Loading...

The problem is that if someone can do it, they usually will. They need to make it so you can't do it.

Exactly. I think they need to pull the plug on selfvoting. It is causing otherwise good content creators to get too comfortable and push mediocre posts but they pass as being "good" because the illusion of quality the self-vote confers.

Well, no one less self votes than I, but ending self votes would also end being able to move your comment up to the top, which I don't find entirely pointless and contrary to Steemit's purpose.

14-years-old, huh? Kid, I got 50+ years on you ... but I swear, I like your style. So you got my paltry won't-even-register UV. I added you to my Follow-list. And you got my 100% two-thumbs up encouragement to stay brave and grow up strong.

We need you in the new generation. Soldier on. <3

(soldier on: VERB
to persevere despite difficulties or setbacks)

Lemme return the won't even register UV

I don't like the undiplomatic way Bernie sometimes approaches stuff, you know the cursing and name-calling, but I always believed that he got some good reasons for all his flagging wars.

In the end I prefer an honest asshole over some rainbow-puking two-faced pricks.

Yeah it saddens me that people who put a lot of effort into their posts get ignored, but i disagree with the comment about travel vloggers. Yes, some of them are just selling their looks for money but that is only a minority of that community. A lot of those travel vloggers put a lot of effort and detail into their posts and interact with their followers and up-vote their content and comments. All and all this post shows the truth about some whales and i tip my imaginary hat to you sir, for having the courage to call them out knowing well that you will get a lot of unfair down-votes.

I upvoted you because I at first when joining SteemIt saw all of the hatred towards @nextgencrypto and didn't know why. It painted him as some selfish ass hole trying to make SteemIt his. In reality that wasn't true.
I have interacted with him many times within chat and he has even for no reason at all upvoted my material. Simply for me being a good guy, with good intentions, that I think he enjoyed conversing with and saw I had material worth supporting.

There are many whales on SteemIt with good intentions who help the community, but for every good one, there is a greedy bad one. This is natural in any social platform. Atleast here on SteemIt we can as a team defend and stand up for those who we feel personally are in the right with their actions.

I agree with you 100%, never judge a book by a cover. He seems like a decent person. Theres so much greed on here its crazy

Yes he has seemed in my experience to be a good dude. And greed is to be expected where there is monitary gain involved.
I find to get the best experience on SteemIt to not worry about the money. Enjoy the social network and think of any money you get as a tip.
All my earnings go to my SP, I don't plan on withdrawing or leaving the platform anytime soon. As long as there are like minded individuals who strive for a common goal there can be change made for the good.

You have a big set of hairy balls to stand up to the whales like that @alex-icey.! And I must applaud you for that 👏 but is it wise to upset the powers that be? If anything thing you will grab their attention and that is something most here on Steemit can not accomplish. Keep being true to yourself and you will have a clear conscious 😉 well thats how I live my life. Peace out @crypto-expo

"big hairy balls"....lol okay

.

Very good post....and you are right, you probably will get creamed by some for this but the facts speak for themselves.

That said, the system is what it is and the only thing we can do is to try and succeed within the parameters. There are a few on here who are willing to help as you rightly pointed out one of them.

Just keep plugging along, add friends, and upvote. Over time, circles form that become more powerful. Does it equate to the whales? Not even close but it does uplift the rest of us.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alex-icey to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you for having the courage to post this.

Thank you for having the courage and integrity to post this. Have upvoted and followed you.

totally agree with you.

There is a lot of truth in those words, the human mosaic, collateral damage, man a wolf for man, I only use all this for one thing, do not do the same, thank you friend. @alex-icey @tipU

Thanks for having the guts to say something about it. What they don't realize is that is the sort of thing that is retarding Steemit's growth as a whole. If it weren't for this, perhaps there would be more to go around. I see a lot of obviously low effort posts getting way more than they ought and it reflects poorly on the platform as a whole. Think part of the problem is people aren't thinking about the big picture.

I have to comment on this... but I really don't know how we can really change this, except for changing the white paper... by completely erasing the possibility to upvote yourself!? Will there be a consensus for this? I don't think so...
Are you right? Yes, a 110 %! What can you do? Never upvote the selfish fulltime selfvoters, and really curate your own votes well! Will it make difference? Little, but it's a start!

In the last week, I've been crushed by reality. . .

  • posts get huge payouts because whales are cross-voting here. . .
  • amazed at the follow me, then I unfollow you crowd. . . .

Nothing wrong with any of this, but it's not the community atmosphere that is expected. . .

  • We EACH must build our own following and our own community

good point and totally agree with your views.

That's a grown ass man set of balls you got.

@alex-icey
Out of curiousity, what are you're thoughts of some whales lending their services to minnows? Like whales who upvote your posts after you pay them?

Anyways, you're donig good. You're 14 but already doing well with the upvotes and money here. I can tell you're already set for life.

Greed can ruin the greatest of things. I figured this was goin on, but figured it's on them. Let's all just do the right thing and be honest in our doings. If I had that kind of pull on here I wouldn't be upvoting myself!! What for? Anything I would post would gain traction and earn rewards. (I would like to think so😜)
I'm just here sharing my experiences in life and my thought and views on random subjects. The rewards are just a bonus. I work about 60hrs a week married and have 2 children so this guy ain't no full time blogger. Lol.
Sometimes doin what is right is the hardest thing to do but it's the right thing to do.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

First, I reckon you did think you were gonna get slammed with flags, and posted anyway, so you got my vote, just for that =)

Second, while it is easy for me to not self vote, as my daily votes could get me < $1, it's prolly less easy to do when your daily votes can deliver ~$100 or more. I live on a lot less, and folks with deep pockets didn't get them by ignoring profit. The system is built so that curation by accounts with substantial SP requires them to forego such profits.

That's an ill conceived system, or deliberate.

Third, @sweetsssj puts a lot of effort into her posts, interacts with her followers and commenters, and spends considerable money (if she isn't comped) on her travel. If she's paying for her vacays, she's losing money on her Steemit blog. Plus she has a photographer that travels with her, and that's two ppl to pay for.

So, I don't hate on her, not even for self votes (for the reason stated above). I'm not jelly, as I am not here for the $, but for the free speech. Fakebook, Youtool, Twatter, and so forth are censoring their users, pushing propaganda, and generally acting in reprehensible ways, which I find intolerable.

Also, the level of discourse is far higher here than most any platform or blog I have contributed, and that's worth a lot more than money to me.

@crypto2day said "I find to get the best experience on SteemIt to not worry about the money. Enjoy the social network and think of any money you get as a tip."

I reckon that's good advice.

Followed for more rabble-rousing. All my favorite people are rebels =p

Im with you man..this just sucks.. why people do that having the chance of a great platform, even why so much of them are totally the opposite of what the Steemit pseudo politics should be.. .they are just killing the platform, some much hate growing inside.. It just seems to be so bad! Really great words of you.. I wanted to say the same but im nobody in here about SP s ofor that reason i just shutted up. Go ahead man and let's hope this 5h17 stops

I am just a couple of days on Steemit. Still trying to figure it all out and putting some thoughtful post that I hope help some people. I have already made the decision to not worry, think about the money at all. It's all about content that makes the world a better place. That will be rewarded and I believe at it's core is what Steemit is truly about. It's not a hustle, it's about extension of what is good and true. Thank you for your thoughts about all of this and this post.

I upvote my own stuff sometimes, but I can't even squeeze a penny out of it, so I don't feel too bad. I'm obviously not a whale, either, though...

How does one generate visibility on here? It seems like that's the hardest part, just getting seen. Hell, most people don't even reply to their comments. Ever.

Please follow back and upvote me. Look at my fhotos. Thank you.