The Secrets to Steemit Success, or "I've Been Here a Month, Why am I Making No Fucking Money?"

in #steemit7 years ago


source

As an understandable consequence of the influx of new users, coinciding with the hard fork, I've seen a resurgence of very familiar "why am I not making any money" posts. New users, after working at it for a week, wondering why the Steem isn't rolling in.

I feel you. I was there too, and it took me a full month to make anything at all on my posts, then several months before I started making a useful, livable amount of money from this site. To be honest I am still struggling in some ways, but only because I've come to rely on the income Steemit generates to live.

What have I learned? That Steemit success is down to two things. I only see one of them discussed on here. That one is quality content. That's the only factor under your control, how good your content is and how frequently you post it.

The other factor, which is not under your control, is luck. I don't see this mentioned because I feel there's a strong bias on the part of those who have enjoyed some success on Steemit to attribute all of that success to their own talents. "I'm just so awesome, so of course it worked for me."


source

The truth is, luck plays a large part. You can make the best content on the site but it's for nothing if you don't get noticed by at least a few dolphins or whales. However at the same time, if your content is crap then it doesn't matter if they notice it, because they won't follow and upvote.

So all you can do is to do as good a job as possible at what's under your control: The quality of your content, and the frequency with which you post it. After that, the rest is up to luck, and time. I have many friends I turned onto Steemit who posted once or twice, then never again.

However I also have a friend who stuck to it, churning out one article per day, and they're earning an appreciable amount now. It is doable. It will be easier or harder for different people based on luck, which is to say how long it takes for your content to be noticed, but everybody who makes actual good, compelling content can eventually succeed here if they keep at it relentlessly for a long enough time.

I don't mean to discourage you. Just the opposite. The good news here is that even with a greatly expanded userbase, it's still totally possible to rise through the ranks and succeed. The only bad news is that there's no shortcut, only working hard, making great content and lots of it...and of course that there's a huge luck factor involved that you cannot control.


source

I did put in a great deal of hard work. I continue to. But I also acknowledge that I got lucky. Even a few months isn't a very long time to wait for success on Steemit, when it can take several years on Youtube to clear 1 million followers, even with very high quality content.

For that I am grateful, but not content. I want to send down the ladder so others can climb up to this point with me, not cut it off so that nobody can climb up after me. I hope that what I've written here convinces you success is indeed possible, there are just no shortcuts and it may take a shorter or longer time than average for you to make it, depending on chance.

That's all for this time. Keep Steeming, and may the odds be ever in your favor.


While you're at it, Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

The majority of my $ has come from 1 user. It definitely comes down to luck sometimes.

I'd sure like to share that whale with you, haha. It was sort of shocking in a good way when you started making 60 to 80 per post all of a sudden. If I were making that, my problems would all be solved.

I think I will never change the fate.

Don't give up.

I am still making very less. Haha.
But I do not intend to give up, besides I enjoy posting here. Money is more like a bonus.

It is tough for sure and only in short spurts have I felt like I can really live off the earnings here. It is tough because if I had a lot of STEEM power then it would be a lot more plausible to live off of it.

Success never comes easy and that's why people tend to give up , we have all been there but being known and being worth it takes months

Pft, this website is bullshit. I've been here nearly a year and I'm not a millionaire! It's a scam I tell you! A scam!

Hi @alexbeyman i truly agree with you however i have the opinion that the luck sometimes is very slim, sometimes you make some money in some other time you dont. And well steemit is our home now, need we give up? No.

We have to keep working hard.
Awesome article here

May be you are at here on luck factor point but what i want to say is that ,hard work is a thing that can left behind the luck .may it will take a long time to get success but when this happens nothing can stop you.
It's been 2 months here on steemit and i am struggling here but i will not give up ,as i know myself.
The luck factor has its own point and the hard work has its own
But luck is temporary and short term ,other side hard work is permanent and long term solution.
Thanks for the motivational post

Nice post, I really enjoy this platform. I feel like a new man, free from facebook and such. Maybe I can earn a little steem, but I like this space regardless.

Exactly, it's like the lottery, steemit is also in its infancy, the people who succeeded already were here from the very beginning, it's also hard to believe in it when no one really pays attention, that's why a while back I did quit, but then I came back with a different mindset, one to persevere, and build this, because it's promise can make the future a very good one

It is not necessarily when you start but how long you stick to it. People still get big on Youtube today, but it takes them just as long as the established Youtube stars to get there.

One thing I've learned is that is better to upvote than to be upvoted as a newby, it's better to try to increase one's sp than to try and get big payout

Today, it's my second day on steemit...and looking around I can see that are a lot of posts with no sense, but I'll follow your advice... hard work is the key to success!

This is so true 👍
QUALITY content
Niche
Luck

great post.....No doubt hardwork in shape of quality will always be rewarded well...but i also your second thought too that luck matters...... and those who are successful at this platform must not forget that earlier they were also minnows

You post is importent for all steemit family,,,

@alexbeyman,
Sometimes I do post quality contents but no one recognizing them! I got averagely $1 per a post! And it's giving by a recognized set of friends of mine! So, I also helping them by calling for upvote bots!
No matter what's the daily income! I will help all people who helped me previous and who helps me present!
I will keep posting (One post a day) and hope one day I will reach my goal as well!

Cheers~

Very well said! I see people joining just expecting to get money just for posting anything. It takes time and dedication. Because, unlike other social media... you don't get "viral" just by chance, You have to add value . And then yes, somebody will notice you and appreciate your content , it is like you said.. effort and luck. a combination of both.. but it is not magic like some people seem to think. That's why they give up so quickly, Because they realize that just posting Memes won't work.

I agree with you .. all the fields that we are in and do must be with the spirit, hard work. correctly. qkan but also there should be enough support tools and also fate and ability in the field. that means you must have knowledge in that field, here Steemit, you must know what is desired by steemit and by steemian. for example honesty is important in steemit, meaning no plagiarism. then post that you present quality. of the content of writing and how the presentation of writing. too long will be boring for the reader, short also not fun. mid and concise.

Even a few months isn't a very long time to wait for success on Steemit, when it can take several years on Youtube to clear 1 million followers, even with very high quality content.

👍

Thanks for the knowledgeable article bro.
I think i will apply this.

I am new here n its really hard to get viewers attention. We have to work so hard n i m trying my best to do that. Thanx for the courage you have given to me.

Hello sir where is my money pls? Upvote n follow pls I also follow back LOL :D

So many are searching for the secret, but there is no secret. It was the first instruction in plain sight all along: Make good content and you will be rewarded. Good content paired with persistence is the way to success and a pint of luck added into the mix.

thanks for your writing
in steemit new users must be work full time ! work and work and work so haaaarrrrrdddd

Wonderful to see an open, honest and well thought out critique.

It really does strengthen my resolve and I am very grateful.

I will keep at it and ensure my head is held high.

All the new users should resteem this post just as I have and refer back to it on a weekly basis when they feel lost or unmotivated to continue @ Steemit

Upvote + Resteem + Comment

Thanks for sharing with us your succed gait..

This post has received a 100% upvote worth $0.07 from @minnowspower thanks to: @theguruasia

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!
(Limited Service Offer) Send 0.01 SBD and get $0.025 - $0.03 worth upvote from @MinnowsPower