Why do rewards go down when I upvote a great post? What's the Steemit answer? HELP!!!

in #steemit8 years ago

When I vote on posts usually the amount goes up, sometimes it stays the same, but occasionally it goes down.

I'm confused!

I upvoted this post today: 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dantheman/notice-to-bot-spammers#@alkemix/re-dantheman-notice-to-bot-spammers-20160729t232718502z

And watched the rewards go from $5,434.79 down  to 5,306.86! 

I felt really bad for the blogger!!! 

Makes me not want to vote, but that's supposed to be integral to the action here. 

And I've tried removing my votes when this has happened and the amounts have only gone back up in cents (if at all) instead of restoring what was lost.

I want to curate and encourage creativity but don't want to make mistakes that interfere with others' progress.

I'm struggling to understand how the upvoting system works. 

As I see Steemit.com it is a great place and I see a great future.

Can anyone help me understand how this upvoting thing works so I don't make bloggers lose money??? Please???

Many thanks for any useful information !!!!



Sort:  

Dont worry ! your account is not cursed ;) I was wondering myself while voting and one post went down 57$. i feld bad for that guy i posted for. after reading, i realized that the steem price is very volatile so the price goes up and down every minute.

so every votes count, and without your vote that post may have gotten down further!

in contrary, my vote just gave you 9 cents, so its all good atm ;)

Aha, starting to become clear. Many thanks for the 9 cents! Much more than I ever got on facebook :)

Lol, much more than I ever got surfing the whole internet.

thank god . i was did the same thing and felt like a huge asshole. glad to know man. cheers

I'm sorry, but you made me laugh-"felt like a huge asshole..."it caught me off guard! I guess I'm in funny mode!

lol its true. i did ; - )

Thank you for your explanation. I realize this is an old post/comment, but it helped me to understand what's happening with my upvotes.

yep. the price of steem influences the rewards. and if others upvote the same time etc. nothing to worry ;)

Why didn't I think of that. Man I thought my vote was cursed.
Thanks for clearing it

so its all about the price ?
ok that means the price goes down daily ?!

the account value and the upvote both are affected by the price and i think they r not going up these days ,, am i right or wrong ?

Seems I gave 7 cents upvoting your comment, sometimes it's 9 cents, sometimes more.

It goes up and down, I look at the charts occassionally, but haven't been keeping up on the value.

Alright @alkemix
Thanks for the reply and thr upvote then :)

it depends on the rate. like any currency, it fluctuates by the second depending on numerous variables. hope that helps. i just figured this out 3 days ago lol

Steem price has almost halved over the last period, so when you vote the Steem value is less, so you get less dollars for it. When the Steem price will rise again, the up vote earnings will rise too. Also when you make more than 20 up votes per day, the value of an up vote will become less.

Much appreciate your input. I've definitely been judicious with my votes, I'm more interested in curating quality posts than making money on votes.

It is not because of your vote that his winnings came down, it is simply because the value of steem, which is what you are awarding this content by giving it an upvote, is constantly fluctuating. Usually only by a little but it could be a lot. Assuming you are new to this, your vote should currently be worth less that 1c. That value will increase the more you vote on content that becomes very popular.
Also, you will notice if you get a payout that not all of your money is spendable. 25% of the money goes to the curators (commentators and voters) and of the remaining 75%, 50% becomes a stock investment or steem power. This steem power makes your votes more valuable.
Here's my article on where the money comes from.
https://steemit.com/steem/@beanz/where-does-the-money-come-from

Thanks, that's a good post, I upvoted. I'm into building steempower longterm so putting everything into that for now.

That's a good question I have seen this happen also.

I notice as payouts happen it reduces the amount.

I actually think what is happening is that when you click to upvote, it just updates the current price. If the amount goes down but doesn't update, and then you vote, it is simply refreshing the post value and your steempower wasn't enough to make it go higher due to other factors that forced it lower (usually because more funds from the "payout pool" have been split between more people).

I agree with that. I believe that's whats happening as well.

I've seen it said that this is because of the curation reward being paid to others, but not sure if that's it.

I have seen it happen too. Yet, steemit is well built: https://steemit.com/steemit/@izzy/why-steem-is-the-real-libertarian-platform

Thanks! I'm totally into it, just making sure i do it all right. Appreciate your comment.

It's not you. Don't worry. When there are hundreds of votes there are fluctuations in terms of voting power, value of Steem etc.

Thanks for the reassurance :)

I haved the say question but i tough people would think I am dumb. Here I learned a lesson, if you think is dumb other people maybe think is smart, don't let others to make you understand less.

Also, I made sure the autovote was unchecked, and I haven't clicked it, but it says I voted ?!?!?!

just check the box when you make your next post, then the option will be changed. i had the same issue.

cheers

Steemit value changes every time.And if you have more steemit power you loose a lot of dollor even for one upvote.
Careful when you upvote any posts.

You dont waste your steemit dollor for upvoting my post.Really !
You can check if you want.