Mining steem is over! supercomputing is taking over!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)
  • steem mining is over! please take a look at the witness page. @dantheman or anybody, please take a look, this is not healthy for steem.

Update:

  • ​## I guess nobody care. I am done with mining steem for now.
Sort:  

I have heard that some start mining Steem on Google servers, although this is prohibited by the rules. Perhaps this is the case.

Demotivating for sure, and prior to that it was not easy either, but now with a lot more extra witnesses/miners from the same user... I've stopped mining a few days ago, but if I did not, this would have made me for sure.

This is not good for steem, one person has too much hashing power.

Yes, that is definetly true, but not so dangerous as the mining part of Steem is not that influental or important as with other crypto currencies. It would 've been much worse if there were a lot of witness nodes operated the same way as these multiple miners by a single person.

he is getting double bubble as witness and miner, nobody can afford to run servers for a 1 in 1000 chance of getting a doller.

I just learned about steem yesterday and started mining in the last 24 hours. This is extremely demotivating. Mining is what originally attracted me and I'm sure many others would be attracted if it were feasible.

Today I was just reading how to setup a dedicated witness node and was planning on what hardware to run it on, but now I may just skip that. I wonder why supercomputing did not opt out for a dedicated witness node and is running instead multiple witness/miners when he apparently ha a lot of resources in his hands. This way he will actually be supporting steemit much more.

He just adding more machine now. I am done mining too.

Hmmm. Interesting to see how this plays out....

Holy crap that's disheartening. Hopefully this gets some attention

I have made two posts for the last two hour. Nobody care.

I think I might turn round a head for the eth door, there must be some fair way of getting a crack this person just has more and more coming on line I cant afford to waste server time on this.

@dave-hughes,
according to @rainman, apparently there is a "loophole" in the mining algorithm, they are working on a fixed now, hopefully, they will be implemented​ soon.

@alphabeta , Yes - blockchain is supercomputer and now the same is true for mining.
But isn't it still possible to add some residual steem ti your wallet without being a witness - or is that possibility gone too?