Steemit Delhi Meetup Rehashed!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This was my first Steemit meetup. It was hosted by @firepower in the beautiful ambience of Connaught Place, Delhi, which has a rich legacy of its own, which is designed by architect Walter Sykes George, it sits pretty at the epicentre of Delhi.

Image source


Delhi Steemit meetup was in Cafe Coffee Day, quite a popular chain in India. It started with the basic introduction. There was a group of people would come all the way from Jaipur to attend this meetup. Before this meetup, I was rubbing my hands and was looking forward to meeting @bunnypunia and @firepower, because I only knew them.
This is how I introduced myself:
Capture.JPG
(Image by @varunpinto)


@Bunnypunia was sitting comfortably in the corner and listening to all the speakers. He also shared his experience of holding a LIMCA book of world record. And went to share the stories between him and firepower.
@varunpinto was clicking all the photographs and a nice person to talk to. @wandereronwheels was the funniest guy in the room. This was the guy who took the pain of writing all the names in the event. Kudos!
It was a such a pleasure to talk to @sauravrungta who gave insights on the Steemit blockchain.

@Firepower cleared my doubt about how I could divert my 29,000 followers on Quora and build my audience about psychology and International Relations on Steemit.

Then I swamped to the group where @steemflow was talking in. He was distribution much-needed knowledge about the basics of Steemit. He was also giving suggestions to newbies on how to power up and converting the STEEM and SBD into SP.
After some casual strolls, it was time for some light snacking. There I had a conversation with @indiantraveller who shared his experience in writing about travelling in India. He also talked about how he and his friends manage to squeeze in time for travelling on weekends despite working in an MNC in Gurugram, Haryana, India.
Henceforth, we - a group of seven people - went to a nearby central park to shoot the video. We were heralded by @shenoy, who was sceptical about shooting the video in a strict environment in a central park where we weren't allowed to take in the camera and equipment, but we somehow manage to slip in and then the shooting started.

The interview which followed the meetup was fun, and @Shenoy asked me many questions. Excerpt from the interview:

1. How has Steemit changed your life?

Answer: I earned hard-money (we were in splits due to the term "hard".) out of Steemit. I purchased my phone out of 20,000 INR I earned out of Steemit blockchain.

2. Why did you migrate from Quora to Steemit?

Answer: I had no incentive to write on Quora. They ban their users unceremoniously. Steemit is a way friendlier and a more positive platform than Quora.

3. How likely am I to recommend Steemit to a user who is interested in blogging?

Answer: I highly recommend Steemit to my Quora friends and people who come to me for the suggestion on where to start blogging. Steemit provides a good monetary incentive to its users. The Steemit has already grown manifolds since its inception and is likely to touch new heights.

4. What do you write about?

Answer: I have two accounts - @justa which I use for posting my original sarcastic and funny quotes, and @amank where I write about psychology and political science.

5. What are some of your sarcastic one-liners?

Answer: I breathe sarcasm more than Delhi's polluted air. (This statement is copyrighted under my name - justamankhanna.)
@Shenoy: "It was nice talking to you, Aman"
"Likewise"
---- End of Interview----
I am the rightmost (with shades and black leather jacket) and @shenoy is the leftmost (facing backwards) in the picture below and it was taken by @varunpinto who skillfully captured my stoic face.
cd166ea9-2dba-4183-bbb4-fa327c61f0a4.jpeg


I am looking forward to building my audience on psychology and political science here on Steemit. I also am active on @justa where I post the pictures of my life, share my funny bone, and much more.

My suggestions to improve the Steemit meetups:

  1. The agenda of meetup should be set beforehand in Steemit.chat managed by @firepower.
  2. An easy to understand FAQ should be printed out and distributed to the attendees like pamphlets.
  3. In future when the Steemit network expands in India, there can be separate discussion groups like - Steemit experts, Political Science experts (me), group on human psychology...so that all the like-minded people can discuss under one roof.
  4. We can sponsor out own Steemit batches that can be attached to bags, purses, which improves the visibility of Steemit as an alternate content creation site.

Looking forward to building the Delhi Steemit community.
Mic drop.

A

Sort:  

And I was waiting for this one too - good report there @amank / @justa :)

Thank you!

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.

Congratulations @amank! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @amank! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @amank! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

And most of what this person says here are outright braggings. He is wrong when he say he has migrated from quora. There is no way he could earn 20000 rupees from this account.