You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wallet App Soft Roll-Out is Live!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

I think you bring up a good point, but there important security reasons for the separate domain for the wallet app. I think the real solution is making sure that everyone knows that this other domain is safe and secure, in fact it is safe and secure because it is a separate domain. Most users won't notice the domain name change and for those users security will go way up as a consequence of this change. For those users who are more aware of security risks (kudos for being one such user) we should make sure they know that this is a trusted domain, but as they are by definition the more educated, I don't think that should be a huge problem. Again, great points and thanks for the thoughtful comment.

Sort:  

Thank you for your answer! I absolutely understand that there can be security advantages in having a completely separate domain name. I completely agree there. My main point is that steemit.co looks like a phishing site, so a sufficiently different domain name, like wallet.steem.com (kudos to @vikisecrets for proposing that one) might be much better. Or another completely different domain name.

My thoughts were very similar to thoughts of @borislavzlatanov. IMO address wallet.steemit.co looks shady. When I noticed that, I've actually double checked, from where I got this link. I calm down after realizing that wallet.steemit.com redirects to wallet,steemit.co as well.

Why not use address https://wallet.steem.io/ ?