You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Steemit - Good Citizenship on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

This is nice. I still consider myself fairly new to Steemit, but so far, I have almost always encountered polite, respectful, and thoughtful dialogue on the platform. It's such a welcome change to other social media platforms where people are often so quick to belittle each other. I think that users knowing that everything written is permanent, plus having an understanding of the higher quality of expectations really helps bring this platform up. I know that the story I often share is not easy for people to receive. But on this platform, unlike others, if people aren't ready to receive the message or it doesn't resonate with them, they're much more likely to just close the article and go to a different page, rather than try to shut the article down. I think people here are listening to each other. There's real dialogue. Some of the other platforms seem to have just become mess. This reminded me of a post I saw this weekend about Fergie's performance of the National Anthem. I personally wasn't offended by it, as I knew before listening to it that she has a unique style. But like this author, I was saddened to see the shaming she received. That's what this post reminded me of. It's the feeling that she could probably sing in her unique way on Steemit and not be shamed, because the Steemit community seems to be open to listening to each other, even if we don't agree. Thanks for the article.

https://www.facebook.com/krissynmueller/posts/10211562824848653?pnref=story

Sort:  

Nice point. The shaming here is much lower than anywhere else that I know of. That alone would be enough to recommend Steemit to my friends. And there is so much more.