First Stop in Jordan! Mt. Nebo!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone! My trip to Jordan was amazing! One of the beautiful things about Jordan is all of the historic sites. Mt. Nebo is one of them. It is know as the Memorial of Moses. The Byzantine Church and monastery remains were also discovered here in 1933 on the highest ridge of the Syagha mountain. This is also where Moses was shown the promise land and where the snake and cross were unified. From the ridge you can see the west bank city of Jericho and when I was there I was able to see Jerusalem but not so much in the pictures. The Byzantine church was first mentioned in 394 AD. It was built following the basilica pattern which was later enlarged and rebuilt in A.D. 597. The mosaics inside the church were amazing even being the floor. Everything in there looked perfect. Mosaics are very difficult to do and to see the quality they had when they were building these is amazing.

After Mt. Nebo we ended up at a delicious restaurant. Every restaurant we went to had hookah as well, almost like an addition to dessert. The Arak (which is an arabic alcohol, that tastes like black licorice and turns white when you mix it with water) served here was perfect with cheesesteak with fries!!

IMG_4951.JPG

IMG_4953.JPG

IMG_4956.JPG

IMG_4954.JPG

IMG_4960.JPG

Here if you look at the floor it is all Mosaic. Each one cut and placed in the perfect place.

IMG_4961.JPG

IMG_4964.JPG

IMG_4963.JPG

Thank you everyone for reading my post I hope you enjoyed it and the pictures! I am still new to the community so lets connect, shoot me a follow, leave me a comment and maybe even an upvote!
@antonezumot

Sort:  

JESSICA WELCOME.gif
Have a Jessica Alba gif and an upvote, now tell me, how welcome do you feel?

that is one of the best welcomes thats forsure lol

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Hi welcome i am @djnoel nice to me you :)

hi @djnoel nice to meet you as well!

Hi dear friend , welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea