What Should You Write About? 7 Tips to Help You Find Ideas for Your Blog

in #steemit6 years ago

Are you struggling with trying to come up with ideas for blog posts?

Do you have a lot in your head but can't seem to get one thing nailed down on the page?

Are you suffering with writers block?


It effects us all. Every one of us. From weekly bloggers to Steven King. Sometimes you just don't know what to say.

It can be frustrating, but you must not put too much pressure on yourself. It happens.


Here are sure tips to get the creative juices, and words, flowing like honey.

  • Relax. If you focus on the fact that you cannot come up with an idea, you will not be open to coming up with an idea ;)

  • Put it away and go do something else. Exercise, get a coffee, walk the dog- anything other than writing. It will take your mind off the pressure you are needlessly placing upon yourself and set your mind on something else, so when you come back to the page it is with fresh eyes.

  • Read something. The funnies. The news. A favorite poetry or inspirational book. Steemit posts in your feed. Reading something will help spark ideas.

  • Write what you know. What are people always asking you to tell them more about? Or, what do you wish others would ask about? If you are good at something or know a lot about a subject, write about it! Talk about it like you are explaining it to someone. There are many people looking for information on what you already know a lot about!

  • Get all the info down, then make it pretty. You have a lot of ideas swimming through your mind. Write them all down, no matter how unordered they are. Then group all the ideas with similar, then create compelling paragraphs from all the information.

  • What do you wish you could find on the web? Is there somethign you are dying to learn more about but have had little success finding on the internet? Chances are you are not the only one! Research the subject and write about it- guaranteed you will find readers!

  • Most of all, remember to be you. You are the best person for it ;)

Even if you’re only pretty good, but not a ninja, you’re still a ninja to someone ~ Sonia Simone

Happy writing Steemitzens!


What is your favorite way to beat writer's block? Share in the comments!


Enter Week 3 Photography Contest- Humor- for a chance to win $10 SBD!



Images via Pexels




Thank you for your support, I love you guys ♡


signature_2.gif

With Love, Positivity and Good Mojo Light,
May Your Days Be Always Happy and Bright!

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Google, GPS, and the True (Almost) Horror Story
~
How to Buy a Car With Cryptocurrency
~
5 Journalist Tricks to Help You Create Epic Blog Posts
~
Proud to Be a Steemit Groupie- But With a Warning
~
Is Virtual Reality Dangerous?
~
How to Be Supportive
~



Black and White Photography

Interlude


Fiction

The Burn of the Badge
~
the last board

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

Sort:  

Thank you! My wife writes pretty effortlessly but I often struggle. I hear rumors we are going to have a PNW Steemfest? Looking forward to meeting you and our other "local" steemians!

Ah, yes Obiwan... the greatest Steemfest to top all Steemfests...

:) It will be awesomesauce! Cant wait to meet you!

Say what? Ok, I want to know more. I surely hope it is not on a weekday. :-(

It will be several days, and during the weekend :) I will message you in discord

Just sent you request on discord. Thought I already had it going. "FacePalm" , lol. But I go by PixieGem on there.

I can't find it! I will look for you...

I joined the writers circle :-)

I must admit I never have the problem of not knowing what to write. Really the opposite. I usually have about 20 posts swimming in my head at any one time.

I use a method of threads - themes or projects I am developing. Then I keep moving from one to the other trying to keep them all updated and moving along.

This method is not for everyone of course. But if you are stuck for content start thinking in terms of projects or series.

For example I am now looking at doing a series on the towns of Wales. I travel around and whenever I visit a new town I take some photos.

Then it is a simple process of researching the town online for a few key facts and then building a post around the photos and the facts.

If anyone is stuck for ideas for posts I am happy to spend some time with them developing ideas. Comment on one of my posts if you want to contact me or better still find me on Discord (Pennsif#9921).

Great share! And very generous of you :) Steem on my friend!

You are very correct, sometimes i just get frustrated thinking on what to that would be appreciated. That is why most times i often just feel relaxed to see a movie, be on instagram, read or twitter because of some of thr hilarious post i do come accross and it has been helping me out these but just kinda frustrating sometimes that after doing so much research to go extra to put down a creative post or writings, it's hardly seen on steemit but i'm not backing off and i won't back as it takes consistency, hardwork, good content and determination to get to the top and with people like you @arbitrarykitten getting minnows like us an encouragement and support to grow and be seen, i stand strong to be myself till i make it to the top. Thanks for being a vessel of hope for us here on steemit.

You have to build. We all start from scratch. The trending page is something you should not look at- those whales have been here for a long time and they began with making pennies per post- back when STEEM was only worth tens of cents. They posted consistently, talked with others and built their communities. Their effort has paid off. You are now where they were a year ago. Just wait- dedicate yourself and have patience- and never give up. If this is worth it to you, you must build every day :) In a year you'll look back at your beginning and say, yes, everyone starts from nothing and look at me now :)

Well, you are right, they all started from the scratch and I know I would be there someday too do far I won't give up.

Some good tips there. I've walked the dog 4 times now and he's knackered. Still not sure what to write about ;)
Time for a break I think.

@arbitrarykitten excellent ideas and suggestions.
Upvoted

Writing is not that big a deal. I am new and have enough topics to write currently. The issue is my posts go unnoticed. I have written such a big post about helping new joiners. Was expecting it to be a big hit. But unfortunately it hardly earned $2. How to deal with such situations.

Keep writing and networking. It's not about the earnings, it's about the creative outlet. For me anyway.

And $2 is pretty good considering you've only been here a month. Keep on Steeming!

You are correct. Check out my comment to @blog-beginner ;)

Hello blog-beginner, I think moneyinfant is right. Networking and writing should lead to long-term success. The first post of my story got like five views.

@moneyinfant is correct- you must build a foundation first. Nothing good ever comes overnight. Those sparkly posts you see on the Trending page? They have been posting daily for two years. They started out just like you. But worse- back then STEEM was only worth pennies...

Having never written content before I’m finding it to be pretty frustrating. I’m just going to do the best I can and relax. It’s like learning a new skill, it doesn’t happen overnight! Great post and I will use all of these tips :)

Oh, yes- be patient :) It will happen. And just like with anything- it takes practice. If you post something each day you will grow better and better- and Steemit is the perfect place as the community is so super supportive and encouraging :)

#2 always gets it for me. Go do something else and the ideas come streaming in (usually). Now quick remember those ideas before they fade away!

Right! And always write them down immediately- I make the mistake of thinking that idea is so good there is no way I could forget it... Then, dang, what was I thinking? lol

Yeah I know it, but still neglect to write the ideas down. You'd think we would learn, right?

Oh perfect time for me to read this post. I was stuck on what to post yesterday and today, besides my daily freewrites. I really need to train myself to start jotting things down, more.

I just wrote about that in a comment to @moneyinfant! Write them down immediately before they disappear!

I have my collection of notes, now if I just put it all in one notebook. Been writing on a small note pad in hopes the page doesn't get tossed, lol. I made it through my January resolution, now on to the next. :-) Am still doing daily freewrites and get into drawings.

Steemit is usually my getaway from real life. This is where I unwind after a long day. Yet there are times where I just can't write down the things I want to write. Maybe it's just a lack of motivation. In any case, you are right, taking a step back from writing and doing other things can clear up the blocks. Thank you for sharing this. :)

I love Steemit for that <3 And reading other's posts and comments always sparks inspiration for a new post!

Interesting tips and useful write up..upvoted😊

So glad they are helpful!

The second tip- walking away and doing something else works so well for me. Whenever I feel stuck about what to write on for my blog, take a break and do something else and then all of a sudden, a nice idea pops up out of nowhere.

Right? And it's always totally unrelated to anything you're doing!

Oh yeah so unrelated and I think that's what makes u think outside the box.

Very informative post for every steemians.Just a amazing post.
I resteemed this post to spread out to more steemians.
Your response is very appreciated in your other post. so I just upvoted you and I also follow you to get your next post.

I am so happy you find my articles inspirational! And wonderful meeting you! Welcome to the community!

I have being having problems coming up with topics to write in recently. I'll try out your suggestions and see if it works.
Thanks for sharing.

Please tell me which works for you!

Congratulations @arbitrarykitten! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this has been helpful, thank you

I am so happy this is helpful to you :)

The biggest advice Stephen King has is about writing to a quota - set a word count, and write that much every day.

Exactly. Write every day.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great ideas as I find myself sometimes having too many topics to write on and get bogged down with not writing about any of them.

One thing I do find helpful with writing is to mind map ideas. When I write things down in this format it seems to be a jumping off point for more ideas.

Along with Google, I find Pinterest a great inspirational place to get ideas for writing. It's an addiction. What can I say :)

Thanks for sharing.