Phishing site reported - steamit(dot)ga

in #steemit6 years ago

Never give your password and double check on which website you really are!

I already warned you about several (potential) scam attempts (see bottom of this post for a list of them). Here is a new one. Thanks to @ace108 for catching my attention and notifying about this new scam.

Scam Description

The scammer publish the following comment on user’s post

If you click on the link in the comment, you will be redirected to the following site:

The site is a fake Steemit login page

If you scroll down the page, you will notice that the website is hosted on aba(dot)ae

Whatever button or link you click on this page, you will be redirected to the official Steemit website.

Anyway, the goal of the creator of this website is clearly to steal your credentials to hack your account!.

Preventive action activated

I will add any account sending phishing links to the black list of my Warning-Bot and it will issue warnings with a link to this post, notifying users of the malicious activity of those accounts.

If you find similiar pishing attemps, contact me on steem.chat

To protect yourself, you can:

  • always double check before clicking on a link, especially if this links take you away from steemit.com.
  • verify the reputation of people writing comments on your posts. A user with a low reputation shoud trigger you attention.

Previous threat alerts

If you missed them, please find here the previous alerts I published:

reminder

A bit of paranoia is the basis of security.
There are a few simple rules to follow in order to avoid having your account hacked:

Rule 1: NEVER, I repeat, NEVER use or give your owner key or password!

Rule 2: Use your posting key to login, post and vote on trusted websites like steemit.com or busy.org.

Rule 3: NEVER give your active key as this key allows to control your funds! Only use your active key for special operation like money transfer or account update on trusted websites like steemit.com.

Rule 4: Anywhere else, if you are requested to provide any of the above key: RUN AWAY!!!

4 simple rules. It's not much to remember. Follow them scrupulously, and you will only have to laugh at unsuccessful attempts from scammers.

Spread the words, resteem this post to your friends, and you will make the platform safer.

Thanks for reading!


If you notice any new suspect activity like the one described above, drop a comment on this post, contact me on steemit.chat or via Telegram (@The_Arcange)


footer created with steemitboard - click any award to see my board of honor

Support me and my work to protect the Steemit platform.

Vote for my witness

Sort:  

Thank you @arcange for doing a wonderful job in eliminating scammers. I have a new one at my post “Benches”. It goes by the account name @dcaroa and is having hidden links that pull on the phishing site.

Thanks for reporting. I added this new scammer to my blacklist!

You are always welcome.

This user @deepcrypto8 still continues to cheat check his wallet has many recent transfers, the same as retiromi money

good post ..Thank for information

okay this is very useful information, my younger brother @yusuf93 he just a week in hack steemit, because in requested clicking ling like that, not long then he can not loging again. but that hurt us heckker this he spread the words of hatred, he wrote in my friends post my younger brother dirty words my younger brother friends think this is him. very less heckker's ethics education!

Thank you very much @arcange

Thank you very useful information for protecting steemians.

Thanks for the information, and I will always remember your message.

Screenshot_20180324_131533.png

and maybe this is an example of one of these do you mean by SCAM

Hey @arcange , thanks for sharing it . It's a very important information for all steemit users😃

very useful steemit information.good job.thanks for share .............

Security is so much important when your account has value on it!

We do appreciate your good work ✅

thank you so much for sending the alert @arcange. The more I read about these warnings, the more I am now attentive. Thanks a lot. I'll be checking the url everytime I open a link.

Way to go!

thank you for t-his informations @arcange