Scammer reported - @harquick

in #steemit6 years ago

Never give your password on any website!

I already warned Steemit users about several scam attempts (see bottom of this post for a list of them). Here is a new one.

Description

Account: @harquick

@harquick is spamming users with the following comments:

The link in the comment leads to a website where you are asked for your username and password.

The "Web Page" falsely claims to be copyrighted by Steemit Inc.

All links will send you either to Google’s account creation form or Google pages.

When clicking on the “AutoSteemit Login” button, the underlying website try to launch the mobile version of Gmail, then stop.

High security scam

As of now, @harquick has already spammed users with 23 comments with exactly the same content.

Despite I cannot confirm there is an underlying script which send the information from the form to the scammer when clicking on the button, mentioning Steemit Inc in the copyright clearly indicates the fraudulent intent of the author.

Preventive action activated

The account @harquick has been put on the black list of my Warning-Bot and it will issue warnings with a link to this post, notifying users of the malicious activity of @harquick

Previous threat alerts

If you missed them, please find here the previous alerts I published:

Reminder

A bit of paranoia is the basis of security.
There are a few simple rules to follow in order to avoid having your account hacked:

Rule 1: NEVER, I repeat, NEVER use or give your owner key or password!

Rule 2: Use your posting key to login, post and vote on trusted websites like steemit.com or busy.org.

Rule 3: NEVER give your active key as this key allows to control your funds! Only use your active key for special operation like money transfer or account update on trusted websites like steemit.com.

Rule 4: Anywhere else, if you are requested to provide any of the above key: RUN AWAY!!!

4 simple rules. It's not much to remember. Follow them scrupulously, and you will only have to laugh at unsuccessful attempts from scammers.

Spread the words, resteem this post to your friends, and you will make the platform safer.

Thanks for reading!


If you notice any new suspect activity like the one described above, drop a comment on this post, contact me on steemit.chat or via Telegram (@The_Arcange)


Support me and my work as a witness by voting for me here!

You can also vote for my witness with SteemConnect

You Like this post, do not forget to upvote and resteem it!

Sort:  

Thanks for the warning!

I fully expect to see more creative scammers arrive on Steemit as the platform grows. It's inevitable.

Indeed, I'm sometimes impressed how creative scammers can be ;)

i downvote his comment and resteem!! thanks

Thanks man. There's two of these types of scams going around at the same time right now. One is this, the other one is a traditional phishing one. Time to run this assbags out of town.

Update: Neutralized to rep 0.

Thanks for your help!

Thanks for your good post.its very helpful for all of us

dear, I am in a serious problem. please help me if you have the solution.

I joined december 2017. my id name is aloh. after join step by step i tried to go up and started several types of posting. As a newcomer i didnt know the proper system. learning from youtube and following high rated steemer i started to post. now my rank is 38. But problem is , when i want to buy steem it is showing my account is suspected phising account. I dont know why? as far as i know i didnt do any unfair things as my knowledge. Now i want to make my id fresh. How i can do it. If know the way please help me.

its really helpful news , thanks for sharing this @arcange

thanks friend,,,

Thank you for this valuable information. If I lease steem from minnowbooster I have to put in my password. Previously I could have transfer it in steemit, but lately it takes you to steemconnect.com. So I do put in my password here as I need to lease some steem.

Yes, SteemitConnect is now the most secure way to allow external services to act on your behalf.

Thanks so much for sharing

Great job sharing this reporting this scammer, Upvoted and resteemed so that other users can see it as well.
Cheers, @davidfumo

Thank you!

This is very helpful, I have many friends who are starting and I could be warned about this, can I give Reesteem?

have a good time-
see you again

Thank you for sharing this valuable information. I hope no one's been scammed by this person yet. Everyone should be really wary of any site that request a log in of steemit account. Should always do a double check on given links. Thank you for exposing this scams..

Thanks for your concern to fellow steemers! I just followed you, will resteem this post and will upvote you

...and will vote you as witness as well

Great catch and awareness!

thank you very much for your warning, I also thought it was scammers.