The 10 Commandments of Upvoting on Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Upvoting is a great way to promote the content you enjoy and also to earn some of the rewards from the posts. 

Follow the below rules about upvoting to be more smart and more profitable.

1. Read the damn post before upvoting it, you never know what kind of crap you could be upvoting. I'm sure there will be many that upvote this post without reading it.

2. Upvoting your own posts IS recommended.

3. If you upvote before 15 minutes you give 99.94% to the author and get 00.06%.

4. If you upvote after 15 minutes you give 50% to the author and receive 50%.

5. If you upvote after 30 minutes you receive 100% curation reward.

6. The more upvotes you do in a 24 hour period the less each of your upvotes are worth and rewarded. 

7. The recommended amount of upvotes in 24 hours is 20-30 upvotes.

8. Don’t vote on content that is already popular.

9. Upvote content that interests you! Don't upvote content that you think could become popular, this way you remove the risk of wasting votes on posts that do not get popular.

10. Follow the 10 commandments of upvoting!

#steemit #steemit-help #steemitsuccess #steemit-success  #steemit-rockstars #steemitrockstar #steemit-rockstar  #steemitsuccesstips#steemit-success-tips #succeedonsteemit #succeed-on-steemit #howtosucceedonsteemit

Sort:  

This was super helpful thank you for making this. Has anyone else tested this since this post was created? I has been a little bit :)

Sounds like these are good tips I thank you for the information I did not fully know the system.

These are good tips

Hello averagejoe. I didn't find the answer to my question, but your post was extremely helpful in understanding voting and how it is weighted. I'm brand new today, didn't know how to vote, figured it out just now when I saw the arrow. Du-uh.

I wouldn't have understood the percentages, time frames, votes per 24 hours without this post, so thanks for your help. And don't hesitate to take a look at my posts.

Best , Joan aka littlesparrow

""" If you upvote before 15 minutes you give 99.94% to the author and get 00.06%.""
Am confused about the line. can u plz explain.
If I up vote my post/others post before 15 minutes...... ??
Whos post ??

Thanks for this. I am new and was not sure if I was over voting or not.

Thanks, very informative for newbies. Suggestion - change the order of your heading. Use the catchy phrase first. The 10 commandments of upvoting.

I'll use your tip for my own heading content. Thank you!

Amazing. All we need to know in one simple, clear post. Appreciate that you took the time and set those items up together.

Thanks, i had been looking for such a post and couldn't find one, so i decided to go ahead and do it myself.

"If you upvote before 15 minutes you give 99.94% to the author and get 00.06%.

If you upvote after 15 minutes you give 50% to the author and receive 50%.

If you upvote after 30 minutes you receive 100% curation reward."

source?

Many sources, largely from here https://steem.io/getinvolved/paid-to-curate/
and reading other posts!

That link must have changed. Now it reads "Vote as early as possible after the content is posted."

do you guys mean that if i upvote before 15 minute when the author posted or what? @bob-the-poster

Thx for the advice - i didn't know it.

I don't know if i fully understand, but i think i need to reduce the amount i upvote hehe

Simple and informative, i like!

Tagged for later

Thank you for this.

I, as a new member, felt as though I was wearing a blindfold, unsure where to go or what to do, for the best.

With posts like this, I see more light coming into my 'steemit' life.

Thank you again.

All that pic can make me thing of is:

"Here I hold the 15...(crashing sound) the 10, the 10 commandments.

History of the world, a comedy classic!

Thanks. I'm new. Followed.

As this was written 10 months ago, are the suggestions still current?

Hello @averagejoe , I just become a Steemian and there's so much I don't know about this community yet. I thought upvoting must have a controlled system so that every upvote has its value and then appeared on my feed!

They are simple and so clear for everyone who wants to know about the upvoting system. However, another question just popped into my mind which is, "How does the downvote works? Are there 10 commandments for downvoting? Does it neutralize the upvote?"

You wrote: "Upvote content that interests you! Don't upvote content that you think could become popular, this way you remove the risk of wasting votes on posts that do not get popular."

How would you be wasting a vote on posts that do not get popular if you are in fact upvoting content that you think could become popular??

Not sure he well this strategy works, but it's worth a try. Sounds solid enough anyway. Thanks for post.

Thank you :)

Where did you learn all of this?

In the steem FAQs section probably.

Thank you for this. It is very helpful to new arrivals

Thanks a lot! I have a question. Have those rules changed since you wrote the post ?

Nice info bro , good job keep it up

It would appear to this dusty newbie that upvoting yourself is now some kind of a no-no to some. I see "whales don't like this" memes etc. Does this list still have validity? I got a lot from it thanks!

This post saved my voting power. Before this I am just upvoting each and every post like a mad dog, I don't know about voting power and stuff. I thought everything is free. But alas there is no free food in this world.

Thank you! Great information - I read it all the way through.... :)

Nice post

Everyone is upvoting and agreeing that this post is great. However, I read that one ought to upvote as soon as possible to maximize earning (and if the post becomes popular you realize greatest value). This post states the complete opposite. What gives?

thanks, as a steemit newbie. i needed this post!

Thanks! this was really helpful!

Someone who just started on Steemit this post is really helpful and much needed. The purpose and value for which Steemit stands for is more important than just making it another place of entertainment, crap and quick money-making scheme.

So thankful and grateful to be part of this.

thank you.

Thanks very much for this. I didn't realise that voting quickly means you don't get much of a curation reward. I thought it was the other way round!!

Do I actually spend my steem power when upvoting? I mean, every time I upvote, does it reduce my steem power in the wallet? (lose 'money'?)

Nope. What you lose is your voting power for the day, which recovers 20% every day (or so I read somewhere).

Thanks for the advice but I would like to add that considering steemit only as a medium to make money will not take ilus higher. Love what you do on steemit. 😊😊