"Inverness", Poem by Michael Murray With An Original Photo of Downtown Inverness

in #steemit8 years ago

I N V E R N E S S

Inverness

by Michael Murray

-

Night-arrival, the suspension bridge lifting
its aircraft lights, then the road veers
to narrow streets precipitous by contrast.


Arrive in a night-rain, the heady air,
then lit-up with drink gaze down
that choke of water to high lights again.


A disco off the main street, pulsing with colour;
and yards away down river steps
a fisherman cast a fly to catch a salmon’s eye.


A bridle of bridges, shower-cap of stores;
a hotch-potch of history. Its account current
in Highland and Devolution politics.


The city packed into luminous acres;
a hand-span in the river’s mouth; the castle
a Court-house kept by Flora MacDonald, and crows.


The sea-laid land lays mapped eastwards, anchored;
its rich earth wealthy with farms, and spilled blood.

-

I took this photo of downtown Inverness while visiting my uncle. Understandably, I paired it with a poem about Inverness, retrieved from here. The layout of the post was inspired by my friend @jacqueline.ohara so if you liked it, I would encourage you to check out her blog.

As always, I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below~

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow
And all our yesterdays light the way to dusty death.

:)

excellent!

Thank you!