Am I a Whale, Minnow or Dolphin? What do these terms really mean?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A lot of people always hear the terms and wonder what the "official" meanings are. Well I will make things really easy. There are no "official" definitions for these terms. They are simply generalized terms we use to describe different levels of influence.

Think of the thought experiment involving grains of sand. At what point do they become a pile? 1 grain? 5 grains? 200 grains?

If you say 200 is the lowest number of grains of sand required to be a pile, then is 199 not a pile?

The point of this thought experiment is to show how the human mind thinks of large numbers versus amounts we can easily quantify (this is also why we have 10 fingers and is for most humans around the level of things they can easily remember at once).

So what are these terms really then? Guidelines! Using the above analogy I tend to look at things like this:

Whales

  • Over 100,000 SP
  • Provide much more up vote influence than the average steemian

Dolphins

  • Over 5,000 SP
  • Provide a very nice up vote relative to the average steemian
  • Usually very active in the community providing good content

Minnows

  • Under 500 SP
  • Usually new members that are still learning
  • Good content providers should be boosted by bigger fish

I would like to add my own term "Salmons". These are the people I feel fit between "Minnows" and "Dolphins".

Salmons

  • Over 500 SP but under 5,000 SP
  • These are people who have worked hard and moved out of the rank of minnow
  • Has access to the Voting Weight Slide Bar when voting
  • May be considered a dolphin by others

Hope this helps a few of my fellow steemians!

Sort:  

Great piece of work. 500 SP sounds impossible for me right now. Is it possible to reach there without buying steem.

I asked about this just yesterday in a discord room. Your answer is very detailed. Thanks for taking the time to explain - I have it bookmarked for reference now.

i'm a salmon!! hhaha

Thanks for the informative post. It made me think of a new term as well. How about blowfish for the people that post very very shitty post! 😂😂😉

HAHAHAhaha I love it! Points!

Oh wow! Thanks wasn’t expecting a shot of “crack” from you.😉 thanks

Ha my fractions of a vote are worth something now, the benefits and reason why you invest back into more and more SP every week! Grow that SP and before long you are pumping out crack votes left and right to everyone! Just think what whales can do!

Yeah I’m investing in minnowbooster and been dropping a little litecoin on here. I’m kinda getting tired of people complaining thinking that when they first sign up there supposed to make money cause they got quality shit. I work my butt off on here and it’s starting to pay off. But i really love this site✌️👍

Yeah I’m investing in minnowbooster and been dropping a little litecoin on here. I’m kinda getting tired of people complaining thinking that when they first sign up there supposed to make money cause they got quality shit. I work my butt off on here and it’s starting to pay off. But i really love this site✌️👍

Take a peak at @shadowbot as well it is free to join and use and will help you grow faster!

lol man thats good!

I like salmon tier. I feel there’s a lot of people between 500-5000 SP. Myself included.

mmmm, the salmon!

Swims like a flish but soars like an eagle! (going upstream of course)

I think 2000 SP should be this ^^

download (1).jpg

Great Explaination Thanks for sharing with us @bigdeej Resteemed

c0c1b1ad96ce2a3c86bf5febef07da80dbc875e4fefdef5a90d863bdbcfdc2f1.jpg

My this year's goal is to reach 10k steem power so I think I will become dolphin. But after seeing the rewards that m getting and the continuous raping of reward pool by few members, I think it will be hard for me to achieve such a level.

I am selecting my post rewards in 100% power ups and am trying my best to comment on each and every post of my interest. I am with the belief that Interaction will help me in achieving such an unrealistic goal that I set up for myself...

Hope for the best

Good luck!👍

Thanks dear ...

thank you so much @bigdeej ,. but what about investment on these bots. I can invest 5 SBD on every post. Plz elaborate...

Pay for up vote bots can help but I do not personally use or track them. @jonbit I believe knows a little more about them than I do.

What about Plankton ? From busy.org , we are plankton whose SP is below 500 SP. Are those same thing?

Yes that would be a minnow.

Damn I must be an egg still. Maybe fry, or a guppie if I'm lucky lol. Starting to build my following at least. My steem power will grow in time.)

Check out @shadowbot that will help you grow faster and network with other great steemians!

Cool thanks for the tip.. I'll check it out

Thanks for the post, i really learnt somethings from it