You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things You SHOULDN'T Do On Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So. I get to start at the top of the comment heap without upvoting my own comment!

That's a truly great list, and it's in my best interest to follow it.

I actually met Cheetah on my second post. I used to write for a daily MC page on a 'one use' license. He got sole use of my content for one use, but I retain full ownership and rights. I 'repurposed' (with some changes, but not much) my post and Cheetah found where it was originally posted. I was embarrassed. I'll reuse some of those (they represent a lot of research about cool MCs) but I'll do a major rewrite before I do.

Thanks for another great video and tutorial. I really do appreciate them.

Sort:  

Hey @bigtom13, thanks as always for your comments! That's interesting to hear you've already had a run in with Cheetah. Even some big YouTube channels that are coming to Steemit/Dtube are learning very quick about Cheetah. Of course, it's not always a bad thing but at least with Cheetah you're able to prove your ownership.

I had Cheetah pay a visit on one of my posts too, after I copied an article I wrote on Blogspot and posted it on Steemit. It's nothing to worry about, Readers will see that the link in the comment leads to my own work.

That's what copyrights are for. As the author, I have the right to copy and post my work anywhere I please. That is my right granted by the laws of copyright. A lot of people think that copyright was created only to prevent others from copying one's work. That is only one of the reasons. The other is to allow creators to make as many copies of their work as they see fit.

That's something any creator should take advantage of.