You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if people start selling their votes?

in #steemit8 years ago

Here I go again with another question. I wanted to make sure you saw this one, so I'm just posting it here:

I did some poking around today, and discovered that even though I earned about $3800 on my first game theory article, the total curation rewards were a whopping $1.565. Why is this?

Apparently, it's because the vast majority of my earnings for the article happened on its 2nd payout, not its 1st - and none of the curators who voted for me after the 1st payout received any rewards.

I'm trying to think of a good reason for this - but I keep coming up short. I suppose because of the discrete payout events there could be a perverse incentive for people to withhold votes until the payout clock resets, in an effort to be "first." But this doesn't actually seem all that perverse to me, because it would virtually guarantee that a good article would get a flood of upvotes at the start of its second day, helping to improve its visibility.

And anyway, Shouldn't it be desirable to incentivize discovery of articles that were simply "missed" on their first day? This is particularly interesting to me because Part 4 in my game theory series was missed, and I've had people express reluctance to vote on it now that the 1st payout has passed.

@dantheman and @ned might have some thoughts here as well?

Sort:  

A lot of people are buying upvotes atm. And more so during these down times. It is not a totally useless strategy, but should it be done right now when the SP is so low and the reward pools are so drained?

There is a huge discussion on this thread. Come and give your point of view :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/randowhale-booster-worldclassplayer-users-just-halt-for-a-moment