SBD at $3.22!! HitBTC at it again

in #steemit6 years ago

Yesterday I woke up with a shockingly pleasant surprise: CoinMarketCap listed SBD at $2.51 a 43.29% jump overnight. Wow that was indeed amazing:

So I immediately jumped to the SteemitMarket: https://steemit.com/market only to find out that SBD was pretty much without any change around $1.8 trading around 1.4 Steem/SBD range. Same thing at https://blocktrades.us. I was confused. Something wasn't right, so looked at the markets section and found this:

Hmm, so the culprit was HitBTC. Someone must have accidentally hit the wrong keys to buy SBD at $11.45, I thought. But then I found a steemit post investigating the same problem and found this:


Source

I woke up today with another shocker. SBD was at a whooping $3.22, another 33.19% jump:

I again checked https://steemit.com/market and https://blocktrades.us and found not much change in the SBD price. I immediately headed to the market sections and found it was HitBTC again clocking the last price at an unbelievable $34.389:

To verify it one more time I hit back to https://hitbtc.com/SBD-to-BTC and this is what I found:

Isn't that crazy?

By accident or somebody doing it on purpose?

Aren't you curious to know what's going on?

I am!!

Plz upvote & resteem so we reach out to one who may solve this riddle

Thanks 😀

Sort:  

Yes would like to know what's going on. So upvoted, resteemed and promoted the post. Will check back for an answer. :D

I am sure there must be an explanation to this anomaly. Let's see who has it.

HitBTC has disabled STEEM and SBD transfers in and out of their HitBTC wallets. This happened back at the end of January. This created an island of STEEM and SBD that exist on HitBTC. No STEEM or SBD can go in or out.

Even though the wallets are disabled for transfers, both STEEM and SBD can trade with other currencies. The effect is that there is a very tiny local supply of STEEM and even a smaller supply of SBD on HitBTC.

Think of it like a super Bitcoin where the supply is even smaller than Bitcoin and the currency is stuck on the exchange. Traders apparently have come around to the idea that this small amount of SBD is going to be stuck on HitBTC forever. Inside that local environment, the price of SBD may very well be worth $20. It is highly volatile and the traders love it.

Thank you @socky. That does explain the anomaly technically, but then why would a buyer buy SBD at such a high price if he cannot put it to any use?

Moreover, if that's the reason it should also happen with Steem as well, but Steem remains unaffected.

It is high risk gambling. The trader can win big or loose big. If they are good enough or lucky enough, then they can walk away with stacks.

Probably nothing will happen to STEEM. I'm hoping SBD gets a little boost.

This is totally insane. But hey I am curious too. I am sure there's someone who can make some sense out of this.

Yeah really the rising of sbd make us curious. But when i check steemit currency market there was no change.

That's the point. There's something weird going on at HitBTC. What it is I am curious to find out. My 2 cents for the quest to find out an answer: upvote & resteem; and promoted too.

You got a 19.23% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

You got a 4.02% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @sharonomics!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Let it Rise

I was also shocked by the spontaneous rise

You got a 18.52% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @benadam!

I was so confused as you, even I created an account this morning in HitBTC, but then I read this interesting post from @sthitaprajna.
I think he is right.