You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit - The Billion Dollar Social Media Giant Replacing Reddit & Facebook

in #steemit6 years ago

Great video, personally I'm over mainstream social media and their advertising maximization model.

Especially Facebook.

They completely screwed over people who built up their fan pages over years only to make them pay to get their posts in front of the audience they built, paid for, and earned.

Personally, I spent over $10K building up one of my FB pages only to get rewarded with 1-2% organic reach in 2017. I recently shut down all of my projects on their platform. I'm done supporting this company that thinks it's too big to fail.

You can still make good money and add value to all parties involved. They got way too greedy in my opinion.

Not to mention their customer service is the worst I've seen in a long time. They are notorious for shutting down accounts without providing any explanation or process to get in touch with them to figure out what's going on. I haven't had this happen to me, but I know of a handful of people this happened to. They send a boilerplate statement to the effect of this is their final decision without citing any details of your page or reasoning behind their decision. I've heard FB enthusiasts say "you shouldn't be violating their rules in the first place" - to that response, I would say that I personally know people who are legitimate upstanding citizens/business people with Facebook accounts in good standing for several years and this has happened to them. These people lost thousands in revenue overnight without warning. This is good business?

The point is if something of this nature happens there should be a way to sort it out on the customer service side of things since we provide 100% of Facebook's content, the very content people go to FB's newsfeed to see, which drives FB's ad revenue. Their 2015-2018 business model is "maximum ad revenue, minimum customer service."

Steemit is a breath of fresh air so far and I hope it doesn't get greedy like its social media predacesors.

Sort:  

I have a strong distrust for Youtube and Facebook. They are there to take my content, pay me as little as possible then charge advertisers as much as possible to offer premium paid services next to my free stuff. Steemit has a long way to go but it's a step in the right direction.

Good to know...saved me time and money.