How to Fail on Steemit (Briggsy's Unfiltered Thoughts)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

confused-about-life.jpg

I think I need to write a post about why people fail on Steemit. It might offend or anger some people, but growing isn't always a comfortable experience.

Why this sudden Inspiration?


It began today when I opened up my Steemit Feed; It wasn't a pretty sight.

I thought to myself:

"FFS... how did I end up following so many bots and/or resteemer accounts?"

7ae.png

Then it struck me; in my time on Steemit I have gone from wanting to be a part of Steemit, to actually being a part of Steemit. When we start out as minnows we do all the wrong things, and end up frustrated quickly as we feel like we aren't growing. I fell in all the same traps that most minnows do, but the only difference I can see is that some of us keep swimming instead of giving up or becoming someone's lunch.


So this afternoon I set about cleaning up my list of people I was following.

broom2.jpg

I began with the intent of removing annoying bots and resteemers (some of them are designed better than others to seem like real people), but by the time I was finished I had gone from following 600+ accounts to around 120. Not all the accounts I unfollowed were for bad reasons. There were probably a few that I didn't remember why I followed, or the content didn't suit me.

Also, please don't take it personally if I unfollowed you. I get unfollowed multiple times per day and I just assume my content is not their cup of tea. The rest of this post will not be related to everyone I unfollowed, and in fact some people I unfollowed are doing just fine and not failing.

You might be thinking right now:

"why? why unfollow people? You're not helping anyone but yourself!"

default-1464367145-2001-why-are-some-people-selfish.jpg

But this is not true at all.

As I was going through the list of accounts that I follow, I was heart-broken to see just how many accounts were inactive or dead (probably half of them), after only having posted 3 or 4 times. They just quit; gave up; they tried and saw no reason to keep going.

stock-vector-never-give-up-vector-flat-cartoon-illustration-394119244.jpg

But that wasn't the worst thing I found... I recently discovered last week that if you right-click on any image while using chrome browser, you get an option in a drop down menu that says "Search Google for image."

asdgadsfasdf.png

The photo above is my own, so it's not going to turn up any duplicates when I click "Search Google for image."

agdsfadsfdsf.png

If its a case of plagiarism (like someone posting a picture using the photography tag when it's not theirs), than google will show that it has found other sizes, and you can click them and see where the photos originated from. There's a small chance that someone has a photo that they already uploaded elsewhere in the past and it spread around the internet, but that's usually not the case.


Then there's the reSteemer bots. I don't need to explain those annoyances.
you-have-annoyed-the-monkey.jpeg


Finally, there's the "I Follow you, you Follow me" accounts that have tens of thousands of followers, yet in a months time have gotten nowhere, because having 30,000 followers who are all following 30,000 other accounts means that nobody is winning. It's literally lemmings all running off a cliff.

lemmings.jpg


So if you're still reading this post and are not growing at all on Steemit after weeks of months of effort, maybe consider that anyone who has already learned to grow does not want to reward others that are not growing the proper way. I am guilty of ignoring this by upvoting every single comment on every post I have made in the past, but I'm wasting my time doing that, because it just encourages bad habits, and I end up with a swarm of minnows that are following me for no other reason than to get upvotes.

If you are putting a lot of effort into making original content, and are frustrated that you are not being seen, try using Steemfollower.com. Seriously, try it. It's probably the only platform built on top of steemit that guarantees you a pool of upvotes if your content isn't trash, simply by upvoting others on the Steemfollower platform every day.

There are other ways to get noticed too, like participating in contests for writing, photography, art, music, etc.. If a contest doesn't exist, try making your own and find a way to boost others that they appreciate.

The best way to fail, is to act like a failure. Begging for upvotes, spamming everyone with the same comment over and over, posting other peoples work as your own, following 50,000 people because you think that will get you exposure... these are ways that guarantee that you will burn out and never succeed on Steemit.

Fork-in-Road.jpg

Then again, maybe some people just aren't meant to participate on steemit; maybe it's not for everyone. I don't care if someone downvotes this post, or if someone unfollows or mutes me because this post offended them; I am merely hoping to help as many people as I can to persevere and grow the only way possible - and that's simply by being a part of Steemit.




if you want to be more proactive in this community, try using steemfollower (sign in is done through steemconnect using your steemit name and your private posting key - found in your wallet under permissions). This Video will explain how the program works. It is a great way to motivate you to produce great content, and to reward others for producing great content.


As always, good luck, good wealth and good health to everyone on Steemit. Stay positive towards others and help the community grow. Thank you for reading and sharing. Comments are always welcome.

Sort:  

I agree, keeping swimming and the results are right around the corner! Gave you and upvote and resteem! Would appreciate if you can resteem my last post!

I understand what you mean about dead accounts. I followed a new guy who was going to post his juicing and exercise routine to get fit and healthy. He was a computer programmer and wrote a great intro to his get fit Steemit adventure. I was excited to follow him and give him support. Then on the 4 th day he was gone. This was about 2 months ago. Anyway- just the other day I went to check and see if I had missed anything and nope... still gone. Three days of getting fit and gone. Thanks for the tip on Steemitfollower and the other insights. Take care. :)

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

@rewardpoolrape Bwhahahaha! I've been wondering where you were! Bless your heart.... I even followed this time. (I saw that you were proving a point by what you are doing. I can actually respect that.)

Thanks! Good post. As a new steemer I'm hoping not to make the beginner mistakes. Aiming at good content, worth reading... We'll see where is gets me! And I'm in for the long run. Actually thinking of doing some kind of partnership. Has anyone ever thought of that? Not for cheating, but just as a way of keeping the posts coming and keeping the quality high.

Extraordinary post I liked very much greetings

Thank you! I'll keep those advices in mind.
Its all about staying real and tacking a moment to think before acting :)

Very insightful, thank you

Interesting post, I read it twice so as not to miss anything.
I think I agree with what you have written here.
True, there are many followers, but not everyone responds to posts.
It does not really matter as good as your post, as long as you do not have people to read it.

This is a post with valuable content🙂 steemit has been a place to create our blog with our skill and knowledge. Well to me, steemit is more than earning and social networking site. This community has helped me to learn more about blockchain technology and cryptocurrency, previously I had zero knowledge on this.
I support you sir this is the place where you have to show dedication towards this community rather than by asking upvote comment resteem
And only we can get succeed🙂

Hey!!
Great post with great advice! I came here because I got a notice on steemify that you unfollowed me.

I don't do the follow for follow, but, when someone follows me and I like their content, I do follow them back. So, I followed you.

When someone unfollows me that quickly, I assume they are following in hopes that you are following back, and then when you do, they unfollow. Which is what I had assumed you did. :).

After reading your article, I see that you were simply clearing out your list, and I didn't make the cut! LOL! No worries! (Even though, for the record, all of my content is mine and original!!)

I'm excited to be a part of this community, and have already made great friends.

All the best!! I'm sure we will run into each other in the future. Keep on steeming.
Amy Honey

Sorry about that!! I've updated my post to reflect the fact that some unfollows weren't for bad reasons. With so many people on my follow list, I probably missed 99.9% of content on my feed.

LOL! No worries! Best of health and wealth to you!

Amy

Thanks for the post, I like your posts.

Thanks for putting some sense into my head

Thank you for this post. In my short time here in Steem, I have noticed that there are a type of user who seem to be obsessed about winning at the game of Steemit. Maximising your Steem power and dollars, whilst useful, should only be a by product of writing and reading interesting about things. However, for some, it has sadly become the end goal. It is nice to see that there are still idealistic people here!

your post always add my knowledge, I am one of the beginners in steemit still need a lot of direction like your post, thank you for sharing greetings success always @briggsy

Thanks for your publication, it helped me a lot.

your writing is very helpful to me who still lay in steemit

Very good post friend a great advice that I think you have to take into account thanks for sharing greetings

This was seriously helpful and informative. Some of the things that you posted, I am certainly guilty of a few of them. I am glad you shared this as it was positive and also uplifting. Thanks

Steemfollower.com is a scam! I upvoted a post https://steemit.com/dmania/@mikehustleinc/first-bitconnect-now-this-i-knew-it-was-a-ponzi-scheme-zg1hbmlh-ib4bm
But I did not earn a point!

nice try FUD-muffin