You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hanging onto Steem Power is about a lot more than wealth accumulation. It is also about the future of the steem blockchain.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Is it me or do I sense some fear here? This is the second post I've read today dedicated mostly to the woes of flagging. What you are saying is that there is a balance issue here, and seemingly nobody has put forth a way to solve the imbalance.

Whales 100% have the ability to swing their sword, to fully censor if they want and there is no moderators to stop them. It truly is Power in the purest sense of the word.

With our steem power we can hopefully minimize the damage a Murphy's Law type incident might bring with it.

So you believe that it is inevitable. There should be more than hope to solve and survive the fallout that you purport to come someday. Flawed is the word that's currently ringing in my ears.

Sort:  

The imbalance has already been solved in code and it'll be effective when Hardfork 19 goes live. It's not scheduled yet, but most likely will be some time this month. Whales will lose an order of magnitude in influence and can be countered easily. Currently, if it currently takes 100 dolphins to counter a whale vote, it'll take only 10 after HF19.

cool, I am a mid sized Dolphin, and I hope to help as many steemians (that deserve it of course) as I can.

full steem ahead!

I'm with you! I'm mid sized too :3

Welcome to Steemit.com @oceancoinz Please let me know if you have any questions. Great #introduceyourself post. I had @randowhale give you a slight boost, and I will re-steem your post as well. Have fun!

full steem ahead!

Thank you!

You are welcome! I was hoping for @randowhale to do a little better for you, but then again it does vary. Remember if you use their service, there is no M in their name.

No problem, I'll help pump up your posts too. ;)

Gentlemen, start your guilds

It will be interesting to see how the flagging wars go after the hardfork

That would be a great post to write.

My first thought was the possibility of garnering support from your followers/followed to counter the neg.

I then thought of a n00b, such as I am, with little power in such network as I have, to do that.

Then I thought of groups of Steemians with similar interests, including some that might be interested in ensuring that whimsical whales don't run around pulling the wings off flies.

I am glad that the outrageous imbalances in wealth in the world will not be accorded equivalent power to squash speech after HF19, as the two things are not the same thing, and should be separate.

Reputation, however, seems a better means of regulating the power to crush spam, that still might be able to harm n00bs, but also be simpler of rectification by concerned groups.

Just the thoughts of my admittedly naive perspective on how to preserve freedom of speech in a world where the powerful may not desire speech that irritates them.

Thanks for your informative reply to the post.

I'm with you! I'm mid sized too :3

Loading...

A lot of flagging only hides your posts under one click. It isn't deleted.

Lets see how the HF19 changes balance.

Flawed is right, "broken" is another way to put it. People/supporters can upvote or "buy" the produced content of others with upvotes, and all it takes is one rich petty plutocractic ruler to come along, and say hey I don't like you, or your post, and they just flag it with their accounts or accounts, which is like "unbuying" the allocation of rewards others have supported you with and take any amount they want off if they have the SP (like 95% or even 100% of your rewards, gone!) Check my posts since the end of February and you will see what can happen when you get mistreated and challenge the authority of the Steemit power elite. Does the community at large care? Nope. Many people think these plutocratic rulers who get to do what they want with impunity are int he "right" and "good" for their behavior. It's sad.